Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

SOC 318: Women, Globalization, & Development (Ould): Library Resources

Electronic Reference Resources

    

GETTING STARTED!  Find background information on your topic using an online reference resource (may require log-in).  These sources can supplement scholarly journal articles:

COLLECTIONS

CQ Researcher (CQ Press)

Gale Virtual Reference Library 

Sage Reference Collection

INDIVIDUAL TITLES

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice (Sage)

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society (Sage)

Encyclopedia of Global Health (Sage)

Encyclopedia of Global Studies (Sage)

Encyclopedia of Social Problems (Sage)

Encyclopedia of World Poverty (Sage)

Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies (Sage)

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: global women's issues and knowledge (EBSCO)

Print Reference Sources

Relevant Library Databases

  

Search the databases listed on this Sociology LibGuide's database page.  Note - you can search multiple Proquest databases at one time and multiple EBSCO databases at one time for best results.  Recommended databases to start with are listed here:

Finding full text scholarly journal articles...

How do I know if the full text of an article is available ?

Library database results will have full text available in either HTML text or a PDF document. 

With most full text databases you should be able to print, e-mail, and/or save the article.

OR

Database results will have  or (or similar) which can connect you with the full text in two ways:

  • A link to the full text of the article via another database that we subscribe to

OR

  • A link to a page informing you that the content cannot be linked to.  Instead, a link to an Interlibrary Loan form is provided.  When articles or books arrive you are notified and they are held at Circulation where additional ILL request forms are available.

Journals/Publications of Interest

Journals and publications related to gender topics

Popular Reads

Click on a cover to find print copies of each title in the library.