Research Guides: EDS 839: Research in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages: Articles & Databases

Overview

This page lists and describes articles and databases for EDS 839: Research in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages research at the Salem State University Library. When you access a database or article/journal title from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator. Go to Browse Alphabetical List for a full list of library databases.

Accessing Library Databases

Key Databases To Start

Education Database This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 750 journals, 100 books, and conference papers on all aspects and levels of education since 1983 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. This database includes the database Education Abstracts.
Education Week This link opens in a new window
Online journal focusing on education.
Note: You MUST register as a user using a Salem State University Email address to have full access to the journal.
ERIC - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. ERIC EBSCO contains full-text ERIC documents (past 5 years) and Digests. View tutorial:
ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides current full-text access to over 240 journals for professional educators. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 270 popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.

Key Journals

Find journals, magazines, and newspapers by title by using our periodicals directory. The library has a wide range of journals, magazines, and newspapers in print or online through databases.

ELT Journal
Articles aimed at those professionally involved in the field of teaching English as a second or foreign language. Concerned with the fundamental factors influencing the evolution of the profession and theoretical issues relevant to it.
Research in the Teaching of English
Original research and scholarly essays on the relationships between language teaching and learning at all levels, preschool through adult published by the National Council of Teachers of English.
TESOL Journal
Covers topics of interest to foreign language educators, including research & theory-based practices, practice-oriented theorizing & research, etc.
TESOL Quarterly
An interdisciplinary scholarly journal of articles, reviews, book notices, commentary and brief reports and summaries addressed to those concerned with the teaching of English as a second or foreign language and of standard English as a second dialect

Can't Access Full-Text Articles?

Inter-Library Loan is a great way to get pretty much anything you want from any library in the world.

You just need to fill in an easy online form and the librarians will do the work for you.

Enter '0' in the payment field.

The item will generally get to you within a few days - books will need to be collected from the library and articles will normally be e-mailed to you as a PDF.

EDS 839: Research in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages

Overview

Accessing Library Databases

Key Databases To Start

Related Databases For More Articles

Key Journals

Find journals, magazines, and newspapers by title by using our periodicals directory. The library has a wide range of journals, magazines, and newspapers in print or online through databases.

Can't Access Full-Text Articles?

Inter-Library Loan is a great way to get pretty much anything you want from any library in the world.

You just need to fill in an easy online form and the librarians will do the work for you.

Enter '0' in the payment field.

The item will generally get to you within a few days - books will need to be collected from the library and articles will normally be e-mailed to you as a PDF.