This page lists and describes articles and databases for EDS 839: Research in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages research at the Salem State University Library. When you access a database or article/journal title from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator. Go to Browse Alphabetical List for a full list of library databases.
Provides full-text access to more than 750 journals, 100 books, and conference papers on all aspects and levels of education since 1983 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. This database includes the database Education Abstracts.
Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. ERIC EBSCO contains full-text ERIC documents (past 5 years) and Digests.
All the fiction/nonfiction pairs in BookFlix are categorized according to nine themes: Animals and Nature; Earth and Sky; Family and Community; People and Places; Music and Rhyme; ABC's and 1, 2, 3's; Adventure; Imagination; and Celebrations. From the Home page, click on one of the nine themes to browse the pairs in each category. Pairs are listed in alphabetical order by story title.
Please use an user name/password to access this trial:
user name: bookflix51
The full text of over 190,000 essays providing criticism of literature from around the world, in all genres, and from all time periods from antiquity to contemporary emerging authors. The essays discuss individual authors and their works, literary movements and topics, and the social, political, and historical background that provides contextual perspective for the study of literature. Our access provides access to August, 2016.
The Oxford English Dictionary is a historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present day. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis, and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English language sources from around the world. Updated quarterly.
Articles aimed at those professionally involved in the field of teaching English as a second or foreign language. Concerned with the fundamental factors influencing the evolution of the profession and theoretical issues relevant to it.
An interdisciplinary scholarly journal of articles, reviews, book notices, commentary and brief reports and summaries addressed to those concerned with the teaching of English as a second or foreign language and of standard English as a second dialect
Can't Access Full-Text Articles?
Inter-Library Loan is a great way to get pretty much anything you want from any library in the world.
You just need to fill in an easy online form and the librarians will do the work for you.
Enter '0' in the payment field.
The item will generally get to you within a few days - books will need to be collected from the library and articles will normally be e-mailed to you as a PDF.