Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources - National
Ad* Access - Duke University Digital Scriptorium
This collection presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines from 1911-1955. Concentrating on five main subject areas: Radio,Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, the collection is searchable by keyword and subject. A useful timeline is also included.
American Memory is now integrated into the Library of Congress' digital collections of documents, letters, diaries, photographs and recordings.
Avalon Project at Yale Law School : Documents in Law, History and Government
The over 3,500 primary source documents in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government offered by this site cover from the pre-18th century to the 21st century. Arranged by time period and focus area, the site can be searched by keyword.
Digital Classroom - National Archives and Records Administration
An important resource. This site offers a wide range of resources on American history. See the "Teaching With Documents" area of the site for reproducible copies of primary sources (along with teaching activities) on topics correlated to the National History Standards and the National Standards for Civics and Government. Document sets are grouped by topic. Types of information include records of prison systems, infrastructure initiatives, immigration centers, taxes, and courts, among others.
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 - Duke Digital Scriptorium
This site presents over 9,000 images drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collection Library at Duke University. All relate to the emergence of advertising in America. Providing evidence of the emergence and evolution of advertising, the items on this site are organized into eleven categories, but are also searchable across categories. Also included is a timeline of advertising history and developments during the period covered by the collections.
Offers a wide range of materials related to 35 prominent American trials including the Salem Witch Trials, the Boston Massacre, Amistad, Johnson's impeachment, Sacco and Vanzetti. Each trial includes background information and a range of primary source documents related to it. Also available, are biographies of some of America's most well-known attorneys and ideas for discussing Constitutional issues in classrooms. Includes links and bibliographies . Be sure to look for PRIMARY sources here.
History Matters: The History Survey Course on the Web
A superb resource for teachers and students in U.S. History. In addition to primary sources, it offers source analysis tutorials and a rich set of links. Includes three centrally important sections:
• WWW. History - searchable annotated list of high quality websites;
• Many Pasts - primary sources representing a range of source types;
• Making Sense of Evidence - offers unparalleled , detailed and interactive tutorials on analyzing and interpreting primary sources.
Map Collections: 1500-2003 - Library of Congress
One of the many online collections of the Library of Congress's American Memory project, this interactive site is divided into 7 thematic categories including: Discovery and Exploration; Cities and Towns and Military Battles and Campaigns. Site offers and zooming option for looking at the maps upclose and, in addition to exploring the maps thematically, the collection can be searched by geographic location or keyword.
Modern American Poetry
An Online Journal and Multimedia Companion to Anthology of Modern American Poetry
(Oxford University Press, 2000). Edited by Cary Nelson. This is a wonderful collection of poems (canonical and non-canonical) with useful and well-edited contextual information and resources about the poetry and the poets.
This site explores and makes available the original versions of 100 milestone documents of American History. Documents include such items as the Declaration of Independence (1776), the Louisiana Purchase Treaty (1803), Plessey v. Ferguson (1896), the Social Security Act (1935) and Aerial Photograph of Missiles in Cuba (1962) among others. Each of the documents is accompanied by an introductory/contextualizing essay and a transcript of the document. Documents can be downloaded.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection - University of Texas Libraries
Excellent collection of current and historical maps of the United States and the rest of the world. Rich in diversity and perspective.
Picturing America - National Endowment for the Humanities
We the People seeks to strengthen the teaching, study, and understanding of America’s history and founding principles. To promote this goal, Picturing America brings some of the United States’ most significant images together in an instructional set with notes and background on each. Organized chronologically and thematically, it offers a way to understand the history of America through some of the nation’s most important art.
Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture is a national research library devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the history and experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world. This is a premier research library with amazing online materials for understanding African American history and culture. Explore the Digital Schomberg section of the site, including the Online Exhibitions.
Primary Sources - Local/Regional
The following are local resources Professor Duclos-Orsello has helped create. They are designed for K-12 teachers creating curriculum materials, but are wonderful digital archives for Salem and the North Shore of Massachusetts. On each site click on Primary Sources to find cultural products. These sites contain hundreds of regional/local sources connected to national issues.