Reference books (encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions) are great places to find entries with bibliographies or references to related articles or books on your topic.
The Encyclopedia of Food and Culture (2003) includes an entry on "Snacks" with a brief bibliography of related book titles.
Search in Library General Search, Worldcat, or Google Scholar for items listed in the references.
Wikipedia is one place to find background information. In addition to Wikipedia, the library subscribes to multiple online reference resources that are as simple to search as Wikipedia, but return results written by experts in the field with more comprehensive bibliographies containing a higher number of scholarly sources.
The Library subscribes to the following eReference book collections:
Access to encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and guides focusing on U.S. and world history, current issues, politics, and geography.
Full text of various Cambridge Histories covering American and world history; economic history and the history of science; linguistics; music & theatre studies; philosophy; anthropology and political thought.
Access to various ebooks and reference works in multiple disciplines.
Includes subject dictionaries and reference works in various subjects including biology, computing, economics, history, law, literature, medicine, performing arts, politics, and science.
Reference e-books in the social sciences. A selective range of Sage eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Not all titles are accessible by UConn. After doing a search, click on Available to Me under Refine By: on the right-hand side of the page.
Full-text of reference ebooks in behavioral science, biology, chemistry, cognitive science, drugs, materials science, optics, and soils.