Becoming Familiar with Research about Your Topic - CRJ 400 - Criminal Justice Research Methods - Research Guides at Salem State University

What Reference Works Can Tell Us

Handbooks and reviews of the research on criminal justice topics will trace the development of research on a criminal justice topic.
Consult books such as those below to become familiar with seminal research works, key scholars, and trends.

The Oxford Handbook of Sentencing and Corrections by Joan Petersilia (Editor); Kevin R. Reitz (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HV 8708 .O94 2015
ISBN: 0190241446
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Reference book. Must be used in the Library.
A Short Guide to Writing about Criminal Justice by Charles Piltch; Karen J. Terry
Call Number: Ref. HV 6024.5 .P55 201
ISBN: 9780138029029
Publication Date: 2010-07-13
Covers literature reviews.This is a reference book. Must be used in the Library.

Inmate Behavior Management by Dale M. Hayes
ISBN: 9781633212589
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Oxford Handbook of Crime and Public Policy by Michael Tonry (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HV 6251 .O94 2009
ISBN: 9780195336177
Publication Date: 2009-04-22
Reference book; does not leave library.
The Oxford Handbook of Ethnicity, Crime, and Immigration by Sandra M. Bucerius (Editor); Michael Tonry (Editor)
ISBN: 0199859027
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The Oxford Handbook of Organized Crime by Letizia Paoli
ISBN: 9780199968923
Publication Date: 2014-09-26
The Oxford Handbook of Criminological Theory by Francis T. Cullen (Editor); Pamela Wilcox (Editor)
ISBN: 0199747237
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
The Routledge Handbook of Technology, Crime and Justice by M. R. McGuire (Editor); Thomas J. Holt (Editor)
Call Number: Reserve Book Routledge
ISBN: 9781138820135
Publication Date: 2016-12-20
Shelved behind the Help Desk - in the Reserves.
Handbook of Missing Persons by Stephen J. Morewitz (Editor); Caroline Sturdy Colls (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319401997
Publication Date: 2016-12-01

Crime and Justice is an annual review of research on current criminal justice topics.
Current issues are available on the University of Chicago web site:
- https://www.journals.uchicago.edu/toc/cj/current
Retrospective (older) issues are available on the JSTOR database.
- https://www.jstor.org/journal/crimejustice
Berry Library will have ebooks of 2018 through 2022 later this fall.