Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Childhood Education and Care Jumpstart Program: Databases

Databases

TeachingBooks

TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. The database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.

Please use your SSU email address to create an account so that you may access TeachingBooks.

Scholastic BookFlix

All the fiction/nonfiction pairs in BookFlix are categorized according to nine themes: Animals and Nature; Earth and Sky; Family and Community; People and Places; Music and Rhyme; ABC's and 1, 2, 3's; Adventure; Imagination; and Celebrations. From the Home page, click on one of the nine themes to browse the pairs in each category. Pairs are listed in alphabetical order by story title.

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus is an online readers’ advisory resource with over 200,000 fiction and readable nonfiction and audiobook titles, for children, teens and adults.

ERIC - EBSCO

Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. ERIC EBSCO contains full-text ERIC documents (past 5 years) and Digests.

Academic Search Complete

An important resource for many academic subjects including the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It includes full text and abstracts for thousands of academic journals. This resource includes content from Academic Search Premier and Academic Search Elite.

Education Research Complete

Provides full-text access to more than 750 journals, 100 books, and conference papers on all aspects and levels of education since 1983 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. This database includes the database Education Abstracts.

OverDrive

24/7 access to Salem State and NOBLE library consoritum's digital collection of popular and academic eBooks and audiobooks available for downloading and streaming.

Literature Criticism

The full text of over 190,000 essays providing criticism of literature from around the world, in all genres, and from all time periods from antiquity to contemporary emerging authors. The essays discuss individual authors and their works, literary movements and topics, and the social, political, and historical background that provides contextual perspective for the study of literature. Our access provides access to August, 2016.

Niche Academy

A collection of tutorials that will help you understand how to search and use our library resources.

Tumble Books

Tumble Books

Trial  for TumbleBook Library - K-6 collection. Available until Feb. 5, 2022. 

www.tumblebooklibrary.com 
Username:  salem
Password: trial

Kids/Teens/Adults Books from NOBLE OverDrive Database

OverDrive Kids NOBLE

 OverDrive for Kids NOBLE Link

Sing in as a NOBLE library patron. Use your SSU Clippercard barcode number which is in the back of your ClipperCard.

 

Teaching Books: Search Children's Literature Resources

TeachingBooks (PreK-12)

TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. This one stop database provides resources for books you are reading and teaching, including author and illustrator interviews, lesson plans, and other enrichment content.

How to access TeachingBooks Database? Log in here: Please use your SSU student email to create an account or go to TeachingBooks.net/SignIn

Username: salemstate
Password: reads! (case-insensitive)