ESL Reading & Writing Level 7 Library Guide

Academic Search Complete is housed within the EBSCO system. This means that it has a very user-friendly search interface. Academic Search Premier covers a wide range of disciplines. It does not cover as many publications as a specialized subject database would, but it is still an excellent place to start your research.

EBSCO is an umbrella for 80+ databases on every imaginable subject, from business to education to nursing to sociology to literature. When you click on the link, browse the list of databases and choose ones you would like to search.

Gale/Cengage is an umbrella for some 45 general interest, subject, and thematic databases. Click on an icon for databases that appears when you enter the link above.

JSTOR provides pdfs of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences. Berry Library subscribes to many journals going back to their beginnings. JSTOR does not carry current issues. In fact, most journals have an "embargo" on issues within the past 4 years.

MasterFile Premier is EBSCO's database of popular and general interest journals and magazines.

NexisUni is useful to students in business, journalism, and law, Its content ranges from scholarly law reviews to press releases of the latest business products. "Compare Companies" is a special feature for business students.

Project MUSE is an umbrella for scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University in the humanities and social sciences.

ERIC focuses on practitioner information.

Proquest is an umbrella to 17 databases, plus e-books and newspapers. It covers the humanities, the social sciences, the sciences, and business. Both general interest and scholarly publications are included.

Google Scholar utilizes the powerful searching capabilities of Google to search across scholarly journal and book databases.