Tell Me Who You Are Library Guide

• The sources represent varied types of publications: web sites, blogs, news articles, journal articles, and books.
• They cover popular, scholarly, and journalistic sources.

• This reading will provide background information for your paper.
  • Use key words from these articles to find your own sources in the Berry Library databases.

• This book is not held in the Berry Library. However, we can borrow it from another library. Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to do so.
• 

• Three-quarters of Whites Don't Have Any Non-White Friends.

• Race, Religion, and Political Affiliation of Americans' Core Social Networks.

• This book is not held in the Berry Library. However, we can borrow it from another library. Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to do so.
• 

• Pregnancy
  • Childbirth Is Killing Black Women in the US, and Here's Why.

• Racially Divided Cities
  • Census Shows Modest Decline in Black-White Segregation.
• Model Minority
  • 'Model Minority' Myth Again Used As a Racial Wedge between Asians and Blacks.
• Race-Related Definitions
  • Racial Equity Tools Glossary.
    • Scroll through the list to find items of interest.
• Median Household Income
  • Painter, Matthew A., et al. “Skin Tone, Race/Ethnicity, and Wealth Inequality among New Immigrants.” Social Forces, vol. 94, no. 3, 2016, pp. 1153–1185., www.jstor.org/stable/24754307. Accessed 7 July 2021.
  • Note: This links to Berry Library's JSTOR database. If you are searching from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Salem State username and password in order to enter the database.
• Stereotypes
  • Negative Racial Stereotypes and Their Effect on Attitudes Toward Afro-Americans.
• 'Phyler vs. Doe'
  • Immigrant Students' Rights to Attend Public Schools.

• Enslaved Women and Birth
  • Killing the Black Body: Race, Reproduction, and the Meaning of Liberty.
  • Salem State has this book in Berry Library. The call number is: HQ 766.5 .U5 R58 1999
• 
• Texas Textbook
  • "Texas Makes Changes to History Textbooks: No Mention of KKK or Jim Crow, and the Civil War Was Fought Over States' Rights, Not Slavery." 
• Zora Neale Hurston
  • "How It Feels to Be Colored Me."

• Africa
  • Racial Domination, Racial Progress: The Sociology of Race in America.
  • This book is not held in the Berry Library. However, we can borrow it from another library. Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to do so.
• 

• Post-Traumatic Slave Syndrome

  • Post-Traumatic Slave Syndrome.

• Treaties with Native Americans
  • Treaties Made, Treaties Broken.
• Equity Definition
  • Racial Equity Tools Glossary.
    • Scroll to "Racial Equity."

• Chinatown
  • The Story of Chinatown.
• Chinese Exclusion Act.
  • New York Times. "135 Years Ago, Another Travel Ban Was In the News."
• Positionality
  • "Positionality" in The Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education.
  • This article is available to Salem State students through this link:
  • https://evergreen.noblenet.org/eg/opac/record/3211757?locg=1
  • Click "Access for Salem State University via Sage Knowledge."
  • After the book opens, search for "positionality and knowledge construction."
  • If you are accessing from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Salem State username and password. 
  • This tells the system that you are a member of the Salem State community.

• White Racial Identity Development Model
  • Black and White Racial Identity: Theory, Research, and Practice.
  • This book is available in Berry Library. The call number is: E185.625 .B554 1993
• 
• White Privilege
  • What Is White Privilege, Really?

• Cultural Appropriation
  • 3 Hair Stylists on Braids, Cultural Appropriation, and Media's Erasure of Black Women.
• Reparations
  • Reparations

• Black Travel
  • Black Travel Dollars Matter
• Double-Consciousness
  • W.E.B. DuBois. Souls of Black Folk.

• Emancipation
  • Sick from Freedom
  • This book is available to Salem State students through this link:
  • https://evergreen.noblenet.org/eg/opac/record/4063604?locg=64
  • Click "Access for Salem State University via EBSCOHost."
  • After the book opens, browse the contents and index for entries relating to "Emancipation."
  • If accessing from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Salem State username and password.
  • This tells the system that you are a member of the Salem State community.
• 

•  Ethnic Groups
  • List of Vietnamese Ethnic Groups.
• Vietnamese War
  • Vietnamese Boat People.

• Desegregation
  • A Mississippi School District is Finally Getting Desegregated.
• Racism is Alive and Well
  • More Black People Were Killed by US Police in 2015 than Were Lynched in the Worst Year of Jim Crow.

• Charlottesville
  • Charlottesville Attack: What, Where, and Who?
• Racial Homogeneous
  • Racial and Ethnic Diversity Goes Local: Charting Change in American Communities Over Three Decades.

• Alcatraz Takeover
  • When Native American Activists Occupied Alcatraz Island.
• Seven Generations
  • How To Honor the Seven Generations.

• Three-fifths Compromise
  • What Was the Three-Fifths Compromise?

• Creoles and Cajuns
  • Creoles and Cajuns: A Portrait in Black and White.
• Blood Law
  • Louisiana Repeals Black Blood Law.
  • Who is Black? One Nation's Definition.
  • This book is in the Berry Library's collection. The call number is: E 185.62 .D29 1991
  • 
• Racial Passing
  • 'A Chosen Exile': Black People Passing in White America.

• First Amendment
  • Views Among College Students Regarding the First Amendment: Results from a New Survey.

• Crime
  • Racial Bias and the Death Penalty.
• Ku Klux Klan
  • Grant, Reconstruction, and the KKK.
• Confederate Ghosts
  • How the Klan Got Its Hood.

• KKK
  • KKK Groups Still Active in These States in 2017.

• Indian
  • Racial Domination, Racial Progress.
  • This book is not held in the Berry Library. However, we can borrow it from another library. Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to do so.
• 

• Desegregation and Integration
  • The Difference Between Desegregation and Integration.

• "Retarded" Term
  • Giving a Name, and Dignity, To a Disability.
• Lynching
  • How the NAACP Fought Lynching - By Using the Racists' Own Pictures Against Them.

• Sharecropping
  • Sharecropping - Definition.
• Whistling Vivaldi
  • 'Whistling Vivaldi' and Beating Stereotypes

• Intersectionality
  • What Is Intersectionality and What Does It Have To Do with Me?
• Beyond Race
  • Racism Without Racists: Color-Blind Racism and the Persistence of Racial Inequality in America.
  • Berry Library has the 2003 and 2014 editions of this book and one audio recording:
  • Call number: E 184.A1 B597 2014
  • 
    • Call number:  E 184 .A1 B597 2003
• 
• OverDrive AudioBook Link: https://evergreen.noblenet.org/eg/opac/record/4504420?locg=64
• Marsha P. Johnson
  • Biography.com: Marsh P. Johnson
• Joan Baez
  • Biography.com: Joan Baez.

• NYC Subways
  • The NYC Subway Has an Accessibility Problem- Can It Be Fixed?

• Two-spirit
  • Two-Spirit Community.
• Cherokee Language
  • Enrollments in Languages Other Than English in United States Institutions of Higher Education, Fall 2013.

• Refugees' PTSD
  • PTSD in Refugees.

• Hate Crimes
  • US Anti-Muslim Hate Crimes Rose 15 Percent in 2017: Advocacy Group.
• Qur'an
  • Prophet Muhammed's Last Sermon: A Final Admonition.
• Palestine
  • Israeli-Palestine Timeline: The Human Cost of Conflict

• STEM PhD
  • STEM Pipeline.
• Interracial Couples
  • Gender and Race: How Overlapping Stereotypes Affect Our Personal and Professional Decisions.
• The National Science Foundation
  • Women, Minorities, and Persons with Disabilities in Science and Engineering.

• Rosa Parks
  • No, Rosa Parks Was Not Sitting in the White Section of Montgomery Bus and Four Other Myths.
• Jo-Ann Robinson
  • Jo-Ann Robinson (1912-1992).

• Mental Illness
  • Overlooked in the Undercounted: The Role of Mental Illness in Fatal Law Enforcement Encounters.

• Cisgender and Transgender
  • Queer and Trans Spectrum Definitions (University of Nebraska)
• Sex Trade
  • Transgender Experiences in the Sex Trade 2015. 

• Disability
  • Fact Sheet on Persons with Disabilities.

• Great Migration
  • The Great Migration.
• Police
  • The Race Gap in America's Police Departments.

• Incarceration
  • Native Americans Are the Unseen Victims of a Broken US Justice System.
• Boarding Schools
  • Boarding School: Historical Trauma Among Alaska's Native People.

• Landlords and Leasing Agents
  • Portland Housing Audit Finds Discrimination in 64 Percent of Tests; City Has Yet To Act Against Landlords.
• Suspensions
  • Portland Expels, Suspends Fewer Students, But Still Disciplines African American Students at Higher Rates.
• KKK Membership
  • George Will: Oregon and the Klan.
• Whitest City of Its Size
  • The Racist History of Portland, The Whitest City in America.

• Special Education
  • Opinion: Is Special Education Racist?

• Undocumented Immigrants
  • Living in Dual Shadows: LGBT Undocumented Immigrants.

• Gender vs. Sex
  • What Is the Difference Between Gender and Sex?

• Founding Director
  • National Center for Race Amity. 

• Intergenerational Trauma
  • The essay "Intergenerational Trauma" is in The Sage Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology.
  • The Library does not have access to the Sage Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology. However, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to get a photocopy of the article from another library. Click here to fill out the form.
  • This is an abstract (summary) of the article: 
• 

• Implicit Bias
  • The Stability of Implicit Racial Bias in Police Officers.

• Suicides.
  • Suicides Among American Indian/Alaska Natives - National Violent Death Reporting System , 18 States, 2003-2014.
• Drugs
  • Fighting Alcohol and Substance Abuse in the Native American Community.

• Diaspora
  • Brubaker, Rogers. “The ‘Diaspora’ Diaspora.” Ethnic & Racial Studies, vol. 28, no. 1, Jan. 2005, pp. 1–19. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/0141987042000289997.
  • Please note: This links to the EBSCO database in the Berry Library. You will be prompted to enter your Salem State username and password to enter the database.

• Joe Louis and Max Schmeling Fight
  • Joe Louis vs Max Schmeling - 1st Round Knockout - YouTube
• Joe Louis' Fist
  • The Real Story Behind Detroit's Giant Joe Louis Fist.
• Mellody Hobson
  • Mellody Hobson on Race: We Must Be 'Color Brave'.
• Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • Berry, Mary Frances. “Vindicating Martin Luther King, Jr.: The Road to a Color-Blind Society.” The Journal of Negro History, vol. 81, no. 1/4, 1996, pp. 137–144. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2717613. Accessed 5 July 2021.
  • Please note: This links to the JSTOR database in the Berry Library. You will be prompted to enter your Salem State username and password to enter the database.
• Michigan Avenue
  • Michigan's Highway: The History of Michigan Avenue, Our State's Most Important Road.
• Underground Railroad
  • Encyclopedia of Detroit: Underground Railroad.

• Segregation Academies
  • With Racial Segregation Now Declining Between Neighborhoods, Segregation Now Taking New Form.

• Callbacks
  • Study: Anti-Black Hiring Discrimination Is As Prevalent Today As It Was in 1989.

• Reservations
  • On Indian Land, Criminals Can Get Away With Almost Anything - The Atlantic.
• Affirmative Action
  • The Affirmative Action Lawsuit Against Harvard Isn't Really About Fairness.

• Gender Identity
  • Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Definitions
• Gender Pronouns
  • Petrow, Steven. "Gender-Neutral Pronouns: 'they,' Not 'He' Or 'She'." The Washington Post, Oct 28, 2014. 
  • Please note: This links to the Proquest database in the Berry Library. You will be prompted to enter your Salem State username and password to enter the database.

• Race and Gender
  • Gender and Race: How Overlapping Stereotypes Affect Interracial Dating, Leadership Selection, and Athletic Participation.
• Bamboo Ceiling
  • Why Aren't There More Asian Americans in Leadership Positions?

• "Illegal" Immigrants
  • Immigration Debate: The Problem with the Word "Illegal."
• Teachers' Rights
  • Wohl, Alexander. "The Extent and Limitations of Teachers' Rights." Human Rights, vol. 32, no. 4, 2005, pp. 22-24.
  • Please note: This links to the Proquest database in the Berry Library. You will be prompted to enter your Salem State username and password to enter the database.

• ​​​​​​​N-Word
  • Ta-Nehisi Coates Gently Explains Why White People Can't Rap the N-Word.

• ​​​​​​​Broadway
  • Coalition Releases Report on Diversity in NY Theatre.

• ​​​​​​​Kurdish State
  • Kurdish Diaspora.
• Nashville Kurdish Population
  • Who Are the Kurds and Why Are They in Nashville?

• Willie Lynch Syndrome
  • The Willie Lynch Letter: "The Making of a Slave."
• Tulsa Race Riot
  • 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre.
• Oklahoma Private Prisons
  • Private Prisons Contribute Thousands to Oklahoma Political Campaigns.
• From the War on Poverty to the War on Crime: The Making of Mass Incarceration in America.
  • This book is in Berry Library. It can be checked out. The call number is: HV 9950 .H56 2016
    • 

• The Shriver Report
  • Women in the US Are Still Second-ClSs Citizens: Not Interested? You Should Be.
• Transgender Hate Crimes
  • Violence Against the Transgender Community in 2018.
• Disability Rights
  • Rights of Persons with Disabilities in America.

• Anti-Semitic Incidents
  • Anti-Semitic Incidents Surged Nearly 60% in 2017, According to the New ADL Report.
• Leo Frank Lynching
  • The Jewish Americans: Anti-Semitism in America.
• Bengali Genocide and Congolese Genocide
  • Other 20th Century Massacres That Go Ignored.

• Machismo
  • Machismo Definition.
• "Chicana" and "Chicana Feminism"
  • Exploring the Chicana Feminist Movement.
• "Mestizo" and "Mulatto"
  • "Mestizo" and "Mulatto": Mixed Race Identities among US Hispanics.

• Colorism
  • "What's 'Colorism'?
• Native Slaveholding Practice
  • America's 2nd Largest Indian Tribe Expels Blacks.

• Jewish Stereotype Origins
  • Anti-Semitic Stereotypes of the Jewish Body.
• Audre Lorde
  • How To Combat Racial Injustice, According to Audre Lorde.

• Bisexuality
  • Bisexuality: Myths and Realities.
• Bisexuality Statistics
  • Understanding Bisexuality.

• White and Native Multiracial Identity
  • Chapter 3: The Multiracial Identity Gap.
• Traditional Indigenous Medicine
  • Emory Keoke and Kay Porterfeld, American Indian Contributions to the World. New York: Checkmark Books, 2003.
  • Salem State does not own this book. You can borrow it from another library through the Interlibrary Loan service.
• "Red Power Movement"
  • Self-determination and Activism Among American Indians in the United States, 1972-1997. 

• ​​​​​​​Latino and Catholic Identity
  • The Shifting Religious Identity of Latinos in the United States.

• Burkini
  • I Created the Burkini to Give Women Freedom, Not To Take It Away.
• Corporate Colorism
  • Getting Rich from the Skin Lightening Trade.

• Black Father Absenteeism
  • No, Most Black Kids Are Not Fatherless.
• Incarceration Trends
  • NAACP Criminal Justice Factsheet.
• Racial Profiling
  • ACLU Racial Profiling.

• Utah LDS Population
  • World Population Review. Utah LDS Population 2018.

• Restaurant Industry Diversity
  • The Restaurant Industry Is Very Diverse - But It's White Chefs Who Win Most of the Awards.
• Use of "Ethnic"
  • 4 Reasons Why We've Got To Stop Using "Ethnic" to Describe People of Color.

• Right-Leaning Media and Commentators
  • Pew Research Center. Political Polarization & Media Habits.

• Dreadlocks Stereotypes
  • Don't Be Like Giuliana Rancic: 11 Assumptions About People Make About Those Who Wear Locs That Don't Make Sense.
• Paulette Caldwell Quote
  • Caldwell, Paulette M. “A Hair Piece: Perspectives on the Intersection of Race and Gender.” Duke Law Journal, vol. 1991, no. 2, 1991, pp. 365–396. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1372731. Accessed 6 July 2021.
  • Please note: This links to the JSTOR database in the Berry Library. You will be prompted to enter your Salem State username and password to enter the database.
• Black Women in Ballet
  • 'A lot is Still So Much the Same': Misty Copeland on Decades of Racism and Ballet.

• Marshall Islands

  • Doulatram, Desmond N., "“The Lolelaplap (Marshall Islands) in Us: Sailing West to East (Ralik→Ratak) to These Our Atolls (Aelon Kein Ad) Ad Jolet Jen Anij (Our Blessed Inheritance from God)”" (2018). Master's Projects and Capstones. 725. https://repository.usfca.edu/capstone/725

Natesho, Mohamed, and Hayat​​​​​​

• Muslim Attacks Coverage

  • Why Do Some Terrorist Attacks Receive More Media Attention than Others?

Neda

• Childhood Racial Development

  • Pauker, Kristin, et al. “Race Salience and Essentialist Thinking in Racial Stereotype Development.” Child Development, vol. 81, no. 6, 2010, pp. 1799–1813. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40925300. Accessed 6 July 2021.

  • Please note: This links to the JSTOR database in the Berry Library. You will be prompted to enter your Salem State username and password to enter the database.

Shoghi

• Xenophobia

  • Xenophobia and Racism.

• Police Killings of African Americans

  • Police Killing of Blacks: Do Black Lives Matter?

Louise

• Interned Japanese-American Citizenry

  • Japanese-American Internment During World War II.

• Alaskan Native Internment

  • The Other WWII American-Internment Atrocity.

• Japanese-American Loyalty

  • Defiant Loyalty: Japanese-American Internment Camp Newspapers.

• NYC Racial Divides
  • Then As Now - New York City's Shifting Mosaic.
• NYC 4th Most Segregated
  • New York Ranks as the Fourth-Most Segregated City in America.

• Mark of Cain
  • The Biblical Roots of Racism.

• Ta-Nehisi Coates
  • Ta-Nehisi Coates Has An Incredibly Clear Explanation for Why White People Shouldn't Use the N-Word.

• Same-Race Teachers
  • The Long-run Impacts of Same-Race Teachers.
• Redlining Maps
  • HOLC "Redlining" Maps: The Persistent Structure of Segregation and Economic Inequality.

• Reverse Racism
  • 4 'Reverse Racism' Myths That Need to Stop.
• Dear White People
  • IMDB Dear White People Quotes.

• Bootstrap Culture
  • Pulling Yourself Up By the Bootstraps is Actually Impossible.
• Representative Romero Information
  • http://house.utah.gov/rep/ROMERAY/
• Advocate
  • White People Do Good Things for One Another, and That's Bad for Hiring.
• Opportunity Hoarding
  • 
• Berry Library has this book. It can be checked out. The call number is:  E 185.61 .D58 2013.

• Montana White Supremacists
  • How Richard Spenser's Home Town Weathered a Neo-Nazi "Troll Storm."

• Food Deserts
  • 11 Facts about Food Deserts.
• Racial Health Disparities
  • HHS Action Plan to Reduce Racial and Health Disparities.
• Food Workers
  • Racial Equity Statement of the MSU Center for Regional Food Systems.
• Black Farmers
  • USDA. Black Farmers in America, 1856-2000: The Pursuit of Independent Farming and the Role of Cooperatives.
• 40 Acres and a Mule
  • The Truth Behind '40 Acres and a Mule.'

• Pacific Islander Student Challenges
  • How Pacific Islander Students Are Slipping Through the Cracks.

• Pine Ridge Statistics
  • Pine Ridge Indian Reservation.

• Cracker
  • The Secret History of the Word 'Cracker.'

• Hawaii Imprisonment
  • Hawaii's Imprisonment Policy and the Performance of Parolees Who Were Incarcerated in State and on the Mainland.
• Cherrie Moraga Quote.
  • This Bridge Called My Back: Writings by Radical Women of Color. PDF Created by the University of Colorado.

• New Mexico Demographics
  • US Census Bureau. QuickFacts: New Mexico.
• Transgender Students and Bathrooms
  • Gender-neutral Bathrooms Are Radical, But Not How You Think.

• Asian Americans and Mental Health
  • Asian-American Mental Health.
• Asian-American Women and Suicide
  • US-Born Asian-American Women More Likely To Think About, Attempt Suicide.
• Asian Americans and "Depression"
  • For Many Asian Americans, "Depression" is an Unfamiliar Word.
  • Please note: This links to the Berry Library's Washington Post subscription in the Proquest Central database.
  • You may be asked to provide your Salem State user name and password to access the newspaper.

• The Projects and Residential Segregation
  • 
  • Berry Library has three versions of the book:
  • A print copy - Call number is:  E 185.61 .R8185 2018 
  • An audiobook from OverDrive at this link:  https://evergreen.noblenet.org/eg/opac/record/4509581?locg=64
  • A print book from OverDrive at this link: ttps://evergreen.noblenet.org/eg/opac/record/4068874?locg=64
• High-Poverty Neighborhoods
  • Architecture of Segregation.

• Alok News Coverage
  • Soul-Survivor: How Alok Madasani Is Picking Up the Pieces Three Months After Kansas Bar Attack.
• Just-World Bias
  • Belief in a Just World, Blaming the Victim, and Hate Crime Statutes.

• White Flight in Gary
  • The Politics of Disinvestment and Development in Gary, Indiana.

• The Sun Dance.
  • The Lakota Sun Dance: A Composite View and Analysis.
• Sweat Lodges
  • Inipi - The Rite of Purification.
• Spiritual Native Healers
  • Bassett, Deborah et al. “"Our culture is medicine": perspectives of Native healers on posttrauma recovery among American Indian and Alaska Native patients.” The Permanente journal vol. 16,1 (2012): 19-27. doi:10.7812/tpp/11-123.

• Third Space
  • Cultural Diversity and Cultural Differences.
• It Got Better Project
  • Laverne Cox. It Got Better Video.

• ​​​​​​​Child Gun Violence
  • The Facts That Make Us Act.
• Gang Homicides
  • Gang Homicides- Five US Cities, 2003 - 2008.
• Crack Cocaine Usage
  • Crack Cocaine Fast Facts.

• ​​​​​​​Frederick Douglass
  • Speech: Frederick Douglass
• Poll on Capitalism and Socialism
  • Harvard Institute of Politics Spring 2016 Poll.
• Poll on American Democracy
  • Harvard Institute of Politics Sprin 2018 Youth Poll.

• Hawaiian History
  • After 200 Years, Native Hawaiians Make a Comeback.

• NFL Player Protest Support
  • ESPN Survey Shows Americans Interested, Divided on NFL Protest During National Anthem.
• Sports Teams White Ownership
  • The Unbearable Whiteness of NFL Ownership.

• Racism in Child Welfare
  • Child Welfare Practice to Address Racial Disproportionality and Disparity.
• Foster Care System Statistics
  • 51 Useful Aging Out of Foster Care Statistics.

• Family Conflict
  • East Meets West: Ethnic Identity, Acculturation, and Conflict in Asian Indian Families.
• James Baldwin
  • This is U.S.: "To Be A Negro in This Country..."

• Syrian War Death Tolls
  • The Syrian Civil War - Statistics & Facts - Statista.
• 9/11
  • Visiting Ground Zero, Asking Allah for Support.

• Women in Tech
  • Women in Tech: The Facts.

• School to Prison Pipeline
  • The School to Prison Pipeline.
• White Savior
  • Here's What a White Savior Is, And Why It's the Opposite of Helpful.

• Sassy Black Woman
  • White Paper on Depictions of African-American Women in Reality TV Illustrates Real-Life Effect.
• Women on Screen
  • Women and Hollywood 2017 Statistics.

• ​​​​​​​The Vietnam War
  • ​​​​​​​The Split Horn.
• Hmong Population
  • Hmong in the U.S. Fact Sheet.
• Prisons 
  • The Color of Justice: Racial and Ethnic Disparity in State Prisons.