Research Guides: Gendron: ENL110 Foundations of Library Research: Finding Scholarly, Trade, and Professional Journal Articles

Review Our Search Strategy

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Premier is housed within the EBSCO system. This means that it has a very user-friendly search interface. Academic Search Premier covers a wide range of disciplines. It does not cover as many publications as a specialized subject database would, but it is still an excellent place to start your research.
EBSCO
EBSCO is an umbrella for 80+ databases on every imaginable subject, from business to education to nursing to sociology to literature. When you click on the link, browse the list of databases and choose ones you would like to search.
more...less...
If you want to be daring, "Google-ize" EBSCO by selecting all databases to search at once. Do this when you are uncertain of which database to choose. This search will show you the degree to which databases cover your topic.
Gale/Cengage
Gale/Cengage is an umbrella for some 45 general interest, subject, and thematic databases. Click on an icon for databases that appears when you enter the link above.
more...less...
Popular databases include: Opposing Viewpoints, the New York Times, Educator's Reference Complete, and Criminal Justice.
Proquest
Proquest is an umbrella to 17 databases, plus e-books and newspapers. It covers the humanities, the social sciences, the sciences, and business. Both general interest and scholarly publications are included.

The following screen shots show my search for women and employment during COVID-19 and most results:

Notice how the results from this academic database are very different from those in MasterFile Premier and the New York Times.
They delve more into the broader issues surrounding working moms and the pandemic.
One article considers the different effects of the pandemic on men and women.