Finding Criminal Justice Articles and Creating a Bibliography in EndNote

• This tutorial shows how to find articles on recidivism and repeat offenders in Criminal Justice Abstracts
• Once we find articles, we will select about ten and export them to EndNote.
• We will then import this file into EndNote.
• In EndNote, we will create the Group "Recividism" for the new citations and move them into it.
• Finally, we create a bibliography, in APA format, of citations in our group "Recividism."
• Because we are using the free version of EndNote, only APA 6th edition is available.

• At the Berry Library home page, select "Criminal Justice" in the drop list of "Alphabetical List of Databases" and click "GO."
• This will open a new page, which lists two criminal justice databases.
• Choose "Criminal Justice Abstracts."
• Go to "Advanced Search":

If you are accessing the Berry Library from off-campus,

• you will be prompted to enter your SSU username/password before you can search Criminal Justice Abstracts.
  • This verifies that you are a member of the Salem State community and therefore entitled to use library databases.

• Once Criminal Justice Abstracts opens (either directly if you are researching on campus, or after you enter your credentials in the Proxy Server), go to "Advanced Search" and enter key words:

Notice how Criminal Justice Abstracts suggests ways for me to improve my search terms:

My final search:

We get over 900 hits:

• I place limits on my results, using options in the left side of the page:
  • Full text limit - finds items readily available in Berry Library databases
  • Date limits - articles published since 2010
  • Scholarly/academic journals - limits results to most scholarly sources

• I click the yellow folder to the right of articles I wish to save. This places them in a folder:

• On the right side of the page, I click "Folder View."
• When the folder opens, I select "All."

Step One

• To the right of the citations in my folder is a list of tools.
• Click on "Export."
• This will move citations in our folder to a file that can be imported into EndNote.

Step Two

• A box opens confirming the exporting of selected articles:

• A second box opens in the middle of the page.
• It provides choices of export locations.
• Click the button marked:

   Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero

• Exporting has begun!
• Look for a file with a .ris extension on your computer. 
• My file has the Z icon because I have Zotero (another citation management system) installed. 
• Your file most likely will just say: 
  • "delivery (1).ris"

• In EndNote, click "Collect" and "Import References." 
  • A template appears.
  • Fill it out as the example below show.
  • Click "Import."
  • Please email ndennis@salemstate.edu with help here!

• We receive a confirmation that eight references were imported into EndNote:

• Create a new group "Recividism" and move all imported citations into it:

Go to "Format" in the ribbon above your references.

• Click "Bibliography."

Enter data in the drop down boxes that open.

• Select the references you would like included in the bibliography. In our example, we are working with the entire "Recividism" file.
• Select "APA" format.
• Because we are using the free EndNote application, APA 7 is not available. 
• Select either "text" or "rich text format" for the bibliography output. Both of these will open in Word or other document processing programs.
• When you are done, click "Save," "Email," or "Preview."

This is what "Save" produces: