Step #1: Search Tips for Researching ENL109/ENL110 Writing Subjects
Your research subjects make sense for you within the context of your English classes ENL109 and ENL110.
The key word you developed on the Search Strategies Worksheet are indeed critical to use.
However, in the broader universe that the following databases cover, it is very possible that researching a single term like "exposition" or "transitions" will result in lists of citations not only pertaining to writing, but also to marketing of products and life changes.
To avoid retrieving too many "false hits," construct Boolean searches of your subject AND modifiers like "writing," "composition," or "language arts."
drafting and writing
drafting and composition
drafting and "language arts"
Tip: Enter searches in the "Advanced Search" feature. This will provide a template for Boolean searches (AND, OR, and NOT).
Sneak Preview: Searching for "revising" in Academic Search Premier
Enter the "Academic Search Premier" database
Go to "Advanced Search"
Begin entering your key word "revising."
Notice how the database itself suggests more alternate terms. Some include the modifying term "writing."
Let's key "revising writing" in the search box.
Note how we put "quotation marks" around the phrase "revising writing."
This is a close up of search results.
Each of the hyperlinked titles in blue denotes a separate article.
Notice how each article focuses on a different aspect/application of revising.
These are aimed at prospective teachers. Others in the list are more general.
Step #2: Let's Do This! Choose a Database Collection, Enter Your SSU Creds in the Proxy Server, Go to "Advanced Search," and Enter Key Words (Remember to include something that indicates "writing" or composition")
Academic Search Premier is housed within the EBSCO system. This means that it has a very user-friendly search interface. Academic Search Premier covers a wide range of disciplines. It does not cover as many publications as a specialized subject database would, but it is still an excellent place to start your research.
EBSCO is an umbrella for 80+ databases on every imaginable subject, from business to education to nursing to sociology to literature. When you click on the link, browse the list of databases and choose ones you would like to search.
If you want to be daring, "Google-ize" EBSCO by selecting all databases to search at once. Do this when you are uncertain of which database to choose. This search will show you the degree to which databases cover your topic.
"Produced by the US Department of Education, ERIC is the major index to journal articles and documents. The document collection includes curriculum guides, lesson plans, research reports, conference papers, publications of educational associations, and other research and instructional materials."
JSTOR provides pdfs of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences. Berry Library subscribes to many journals going back to their beginnings. JSTOR does not carry current issues. In fact, most journals have an "embargo" on issues within the past 4 years.
Produced by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography is the most comprehensive and authoritative source of research on all aspects of modern language and literature. Covers writing subjects.