Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

World Languages and Cultures

An overview of World Languages and Culture resources available at SSU Library

Starting Your Search

Start by going to the Salem State University Library homepage: https://salemstate.edu/library

While you're there, bookmark or star or add the library homepage to your favorites so you can find it again later!

SSU Library Homepage

If you see this screen, the log in is your Navigator/Canvas login, also known as your SSU email address and password. 

off campus database access screenshot

 

Where to Search

These databases are excellent for starting your search. 

Tips for Searching

  • SSU is an English language institution and the vast majority of our library resources are in English. Some databases my have Spanish language material but to find it you need to use English keywords
  • JSTOR and ProjectMUSE are full text databases. When searching there, be sure to run your search in English and Spanish (The Poem of the Cid/Cantar de Mío Cid; also death/muerte)
  • Put quotation marks " " around phrases you want the database to search as a unit: "La casa de Bernarda Alba" or "Llanto por Ignacio Sánchez Mejías"
  • Think of synonyms or related words. Your  may searching death, but scholars my also write about mortality or the afterlife. 

Searching in JSTOR

Reading Articles

JSTOR and Project MUSE are full text, which means you should be able to read any article you find there. 

Academic Search Complete is a great resource, but it is not 100% full-text. You'll find many articles that look good, but we don't have them at SSU. If we don't have an article, we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan. Either click on  "Request this item through Interlibary Loan"  under an article

article showing where to click for interlibrary loan request

or use this form to make a request.

You'll need your Clipper Card (student ID), which is your library card.  If you need a Clipper Card, contact the Clipper Card Office

In order to get a Clipper Card, you need to visit this page How Do I Get A Clipper Card (ID CARD). You'll be asked to fill out a form and upload a headshot photo. Then a clipper card will be mailed to you. 

On the back of your Clipper Card is a barcode that starts with the numbers 2150601……. This is your library card number. 

Interlibrary loan can take up to 2 weeks to arrive. Be sure to give yourself enough time to request books and articles and to come in!

 

Finding Ebooks

Use the NOBLE library catalog to search for ebooks available at SSU. 

Click on the "Advanced Search" tab and select your format (Book: Electronic), language (Spanish), and Library (Salem State University Frederick E. Berry Library). screenshot of NOBLE catalog advanced search

When you find a book you want to read, click on the title. The look for Access for Salem State University Via ..... (EbscoHost, JSTOR, Overdrive, or whatever the platform is) and click on that link to read the ebook. 

screenshot of ebook record in the noble catalog. 

Citing Your Research

SSU Library recommends EndNote Basic for citing your sources. For more info, including tutorials, visit our EndNote Basics Guide.

 

EndNote is a software program that works with Microsoft Word to automatically format in-text citations and end-of-paper reference lists with your chosen style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.). The "Basic" edition is a limited, online-based version that is free to use.