This is the "Books (Print and Electronic)" page of the "Translation Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Translation Resources   Tags: foreign_languages  

Last Updated: Jun 14, 2017 URL: http://libguides.salemstate.edu/translation Print Guide Email Alerts
Books (Print and Electronic) Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Books

Cover Art
Translation Studies - Bassnett, Susan
Call Number: PN 241 .B265 2014
Publication Date: 2014
At a time when millions travel around the planet - some by choice, some driven by economic or political exile - translation of the written and spoken word is of ever increasing importance. This guide presents readers with an accessible and engaging introduction to the valuable position translation holds within literature and society. Leading translation theorist Susan Bassnett traces the history of translation, examining the ways translation is currently utilized as a burgeoning interdisciplinary activity and extending her analysis into developing areas such as developing technologies and new media forms. Translation Studies, fourth edition displays the importance of translation across disciplines, and is essential reading for students and scholars of translation, literary studies, globalisation studies and ancient and modern languages.

Cover Art
Translation Changes Everything - Venuti, Lawrence
Call Number: P306.2.V454 2013
Publication Date: 2013
In Translation Changes Everything leading theorist Lawrence Venuti gathers fourteen of his incisive essays since 2000. The selection sketches the trajectory of his thinking about translation while engaging with the main trends in research and commentary. The issues covered include basic concepts like equivalence, retranslation, and reader reception; sociological topics like the impact of translations in the academy and the global cultural economy; and philosophical problems such as the translator’s unconscious and translation ethics. Every essay presents case studies that include Venuti’s own translation projects, illuminating the connections between theoretical concepts and verbal choices. The texts, drawn from a broad variety of languages, are both humanistic and pragmatic, encompassing such forms as poems and novels, religious and philosophical works, travel guidebooks and advertisements. The discussions all explore practical applications, whether writing, publishing, reviewing, teaching or studying translations. Venuti’s aim is to conceive of translation as an interpretive act with far-reaching social effects, at once enabled and constrained by specific cultural situations. This latest chapter in his developing work is essential reading for translators and students of translation alike.

Cover Art
Why Translation Matters - Grossman, Edith
Call Number: PN 241 .G75 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Why Translation Matters argues for the cultural importance of translation and for a more encompassing and nuanced appreciation of the translator’s role. As the acclaimed translator Edith Grossman writes in her introduction, “My intention is to stimulate a new consideration of an area of literature that is too often ignored, misunderstood, or misrepresented.” For Grossman, translation has a transcendent importance: “Translation not only plays its important traditional role as the means that allows us access to literature originally written in one of the countless languages we cannot read, but it also represents a concrete literary presence with the crucial capacity to ease and make more meaningful our relationships to those with whom we may not have had a connection before. Translation always helps us to know, to see from a different angle, to attribute new value to what once may have been unfamiliar. As nations and as individuals, we have a critical need for that kind of understanding and insight. The alternative is unthinkable.” Throughout the four chapters of this bracing volume, Grossman’s belief in the crucial significance of the translator’s work, as well as her rare ability to explain the intellectual sphere that she inhabits as interpreter of the original text, inspires and provokes the reader to engage with translation in an entirely new way.

Cover Art
The Translation Zone - Apter, Emily
Call Number: P 306 .A58 2006
Publication Date: 2005
Translation, before 9/11, was deemed primarily an instrument of international relations, business, education, and culture. Today it seems, more than ever, a matter of war and peace. In The Translation Zone, Emily Apter argues that the field of translation studies, habitually confined to a framework of linguistic fidelity to an original, is ripe for expansion as the basis for a new comparative literature. Organized around a series of propositions that range from the idea that nothing is translatable to the idea that everything is translatable, The Translation Zone examines the vital role of translation studies in the "invention" of comparative literature as a discipline. Apter emphasizes "language wars" (including the role of mistranslation in the art of war), linguistic incommensurability in translation studies, the tension between textual and cultural translation, the role of translation in shaping a global literary canon, the resistance to Anglophone dominance, and the impact of translation technologies on the very notion of how translation is defined. The book speaks to a range of disciplines and spans the globe. Ultimately, The Translation Zone maintains that a new comparative literature must take stock of the political impact of translation technologies on the definition of foreign or symbolic languages in the humanities, while recognizing the complexity of language politics in a world at once more monolingual and more multilingual.

Cover Art
Beyond the Ivory Tower - Baer, Brian James; Koby, Geoffrey S. (Editors)
Call Number: P 306 .B448 2003
Publication Date: 2003
This collection of essays by contemporary translation scholars and trainers addresses what is a critically important, though often neglected, field within translation studies: translation pedagogy. The contributors explore some of the current influences on translator training from both inside and outside the academy, such as: trends in foreign language pedagogy, teaching methods adapted from various applied disciplines, changes in the rapidly-expanding language industry, and new technologies developed for use both in the classroom and the workplace. These various influences challenge educators to re-conceptualize the translator's craft within an increasingly specialized and computerized profession and encourage them to address changing student needs with new pedagogical initiatives. Combining theory and practice, the contributors offer discussion of pedagogical models as well as practical advice and sample lessons, making this volume a unique contribution to the field of translation pedagogy.

Cover Art
Who Translates? - Robinson, Douglas
Call Number: P 306 .R644 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Argues for a postrationalist conception of translation based not on the translator's rational control of words and meanings but on a flowing through the translator of voices and textualities.


 

Ebooks

Cover Art
Handbook of Translation Studies - Gambier, Yves; van Doorslaer, Luc (Editors)
Publication Date: 2011
As a meaningful manifestation of how institutionalized the discipline has become, the new Handbook of Translation Studies is most welcome. It joins the other signs of maturation such as Summer Schools, the development of academic curricula, historical surveys, journals, book series, textbooks, terminologies, bibliographies and encyclopedias. The HTS aims at disseminating knowledge about translation and interpreting and providing easy access to a large range of topics, traditions, and methods to a relatively broad audience: not only students who often adamantly prefer such user-friendliness, researchers and lecturers in Translation Studies, Translation & Interpreting professionals; but also scholars and experts from other disciplines (among which linguistics, sociology, history, psychology). In addition the HTS addresses any of those with a professional or personal interest in the problems of translation, interpreting, localization, editing, etc., such as communication specialists, journalists, literary critics, editors, public servants, business managers, (intercultural) organization specialists, media specialists, marketing professionals. The usability, accessibility and flexibility of the HTS depend on the commitment of people who agree that Translation Studies does matter. All users are therefore invited to share their feedback. Any questions, remarks and suggestions for improvement can be sent to the editorial team at hts@kuleuven.be. Next to the book edition (in printed and electronic, PDF, format), HTS is also available as an online resource, connected with the Translation Studies Bibliography. For access to the Handbook of Translation Studies Online, please visit http://www.benjamins.com/online/hts/

Cover Art
Identity and Status in the Translational Professions - Sela-Sheffy, Rakefet; Shlesinger, Miriam (Editors)
Publication Date: 2011
This volume contributes to the emerging research on the social formation of translators and interpreters as specific occupational groups. Despite the rising academic interest in sociological perspectives in Translation Studies, relatively little research has so far been devoted to translatorsâe(tm) social background, status struggles and sense of self. The articles assembled here zoom in on the âeoegroups of individualsâe#157; who perform the complex translating and/or interpreting tasks, thereby creating their own space of cultural production. Cutting across varied translatorial and geographical arenas, they reflect a view of the interrelatedness between the macro-level question of professional status and micro-level aspects of practitionersâe(tm) identity. Addressing central theoretical issues relating to translatorsâe(tm) habitus and role perception, as well as methodological challenges of using qualitative and quantitative measures, this endeavor also contributes to the critical discourse on translatorsâe(tm) agency and ethics and to questions of reformulating their social role.The contributions to this volume were originally published in Translation and Interpreting Studies 4:2 (2009) and 5:1 (2010).

Cover Art
Perspectives on Translation Quality - Depraetere, Ilse (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011
This book is the result of the collaboration between academics and industry professionals and therefore sheds new light on translation quality in the ?real' world: it addresses human translation and machine translation, translations done by students and by professional translators, and quality assurance (QA) in the translation workflow. It includes best practices relevant both to practitioners and to researchers.

Cover Art
Continuum Studies In Translation - Fawcett, Antoinette
Publication Date: 2010
This exciting new book explores the present relevance of translation theory to practice. A range of perspectives provides both current theoretical insights into the relevance of theory to translation and also offers first-hand experiences of applying appropriate strategies and methods to the practice and description of translation. The individual chapters in the book explore theoretical pronouncements and practical observations grouped in topics that include theory and creativity, translation and its relation with linguistics, gender issues and more. The book features four parts: it firstly deals with how theories from both within translation studies and from other disciplines can contribute to our understanding of the practice of translation; secondly, how theory can be reconceptualized from examining translation in practice; thirdly reconceptualizing practice from theory; and finally Eastern European and Asian perspectives of how translation theory and practice inform one another. The chapters all show examples from theoretical and practical as well as pedagogical issues ensuring appeal for a wide readership. This book will appeal to advanced level students, researchers and academics in translation studies.

Cover Art
The Metalanguage of Translation - Gambier, Yves; van Doorslaer, Luc (Editors)
Publication Date: 2009
âeoeLet the meta-discussion begin,âe#157; James Holmes urged in 1972. Coming almost forty years later âe" years filled with fascinating and often unexpected developments in the interdiscipline of Translation Studies âe" this volume offers the reader a multiplicity of meta-perspectives, while also moving the discussion forward. Indeed, the (re)production and (re)use of metalinguistic metaphors frame and partly determine our views on research, so such a discussion is vital -as it is in any scholarly discipline. Among other questions, the eleven contributors draw the readerâe(tm)s attention to the often puzzling variations of usage and conceptualization in both the theory and the practice of translation. First published as a special issue of Target 19:2 (2007), the volume runs the gamut of metalinguistic topics, ranging from terminology, localization and epistemological questions, through the Chinese perspective, to the conceptual mapping of the online Translation Studies Bibliography.

Translation Practices - Chantler, Ashley; Dente, Carla
Publication Date: 2009
This cutting-edge collection, born of a belief in the value of approaching 'translation' in a wide range of ways, contains essays of interest to students and scholars of translation, literary and textual studies. It provides insights into the relations between translation and comparative literature, contrastive linguistics, cultural studies, painting and other media.


Cover Art
A Practical Guide for Translators - Samuelsson-Brown, Geoffrey
Publication Date: 2004
Directed at those studying languages and those with some language capability and thinking of a career change, this guide considers the practical aspects of the translation profession and how to set up a business.

Cover Art
Post-Colonial Translation - Susan Bassnett; Harish Trivedi
Publication Date: 2002
This outstanding collection brings together eminent contributors (from Britain, the US, Brazil, India and Canada) to examine crucial interconnections between postcolonial theory and translation studies. Examining the relationships between language and power across cultural boundaries, this collection reveals the vital role of translation in redefining the meanings of culture and ethnic identity. The essay topics include: * links between centre and margins in intellectual transfer * shifts in translation practice from colonial to post-colonial societies. * translation and power relations in Indian languages * Brazilian cannibalistic theories in literary transfer.

Cover Art
Literary Translation - Landers, Clifford E.
Publication Date: 2001
In this book, both beginning and experienced translators will find pragmatic techniques for dealing with problems of literary translation, whatever the original language. Certain challenges and certain themes recur in translation, whatever the language pair. This guide proposes to help the translator navigate through them. Written in a witty and easy to read style, the book's hands-on approach will make it accessible to translators of any background. A significant portion of this Practical Guide is devoted to the question of how to go about finding an outlet for one's translations.

 

Benjamins Translation Library

Cover Art
The Art of Translation - Levý, Jirí
Publication Date: 2011
Jiří Levýâe(tm)s seminal work, The Art of Translation, considered a timeless classic in Translation Studies, is now available in English. Having drawn on adjacent disciplines, the methodology of Czech functional sociosemiotic structuralism and the state-of-the art in the West, Levý synthesized his findings and experience in the field presenting them in a reader-friendly book, which combines the approaches of a theoretician, systemic analyst, historian, critic, teacher, practitioner and populariser. Although focused on literary translation from theoretical, descriptive and historical perspectives, it presents a conceptualization of a general theory, addressing a number of issues discussed today. The âe~practicalâe(tm) mission of the book as a theory extending to practice is based on the same historical-dialectic affinity of methods, norms, functions and values, accounting for the translatorâe(tm)s agency and other contextual agents involved in the communication process. The book will be useful to translators, researchers, students and teachers in Translation and Literary Studies.

Cover Art
Ethics and Politics of Translating - Meschonnic, Henri; Boulanger, Pier-Pascale (Edited and Translated by)
Publication Date: 2011
What if meaning were the last thing that mattered in language? In this essay, Henri Meschonnic explains what it means to translate the sense of language and how to do it. In a radical stand against a hermeneutical approach based on the dualistic view of the linguistic sign and against its separation into a meaningful signified and a meaningless signifier, Henri Meschonnic argues for a poetics of translating. Because texts generate meaning through their power of expression, to translate ethically involves listening to the various rhythms that characterize them: prosodic, consonantal or vocalic patterns, syntactical structures, sentence length and punctuation, among other discursive means. However, as the book illustrates, such an endeavour goes against the grain and, more precisely, against a 2500-year-old tradition in the case of biblical translation. The inability of translators to give ear to rhythm in language results from a culturally transmitted deafness. Henri Meschonnic decries the generalized unwillingness to remedy this cultural condition and discusses the political implications for the subject of discourse.

Cover Art
In Translation - Reflections, Refractions, Transformations - St-Pierre, Paul; Kar, P. C.
Publication Date: 2007
With contributions by researchers from India, Europe, North America and the Caribbean, In Translation âe" Reflections, refractions, transformations touches on questions of method and on topics âe" including copyright, cultural hybridity, globalization, identity construction, and minority languages âe" which are important for the disciplinary development of translation studies but also of interest to other fields as well, most notably comparative literature, cultural studies and world literature. The volume provides a forum for new voices to be heard alongside those of well-established scholars and for current concerns to express themselves, often focusing on practices in areas of the world other than Europe or North America, which have until now tended to dominate the field. Acknowledging difference and celebrating it, the contributions conceive of translation as a process which reconstitutes and transforms, which brings renewal and growth, an interaction in a new context, a new reading, a new writing.

Cover Art
Translation As a Profession - Gouadec, Daniel
Publication Date: 2007
Translation as a profession provides an in-depth analysis of the translating profession and the translation industry. The book starts with a presentation of the diversity of translations and an overview of the translation-localisation process. The second section describes the translation profession and the translatorsâe(tm) markets. The third section considers the process of âe~becomingâe(tm) a translator, from the moment people find out whether they have the required qualities to the moment when they set up shop or find a job, with special emphasis on how to find and hold on to clients, avoiding basic mistakes. The fourth section concentrates on the vital professional issues of costs, rates, deadlines, time to market, productivity, ethics, standards, qualification, certification, and professional recognition. The fifth section is devoted to the developments that have provoked ongoing changes in the profession and industry, such as ICT, and the impact of industrialisation, internationalisation, and globalisation. The final section is devoted to the major issues involved in translator training. A glossary is provided, together with a list of Websites for further browsing.

Cover Art
Sociocultural Aspects of Translating and Interpreting - Pym, Anthony; Jettmarová, Zuzana (Editors)
Publication Date: 2006
Translation Studies has recently been searching for connections with Cultural Studies and Sociology. This volume brings together a range of ways in which the disciplines can be related, particularly with respect to research methodologies. The key aspects covered are the agents behind translation, the social histories revealed by translations, the perceived roles and values of translators in social contexts, the hidden power relations structuring publication contexts, and the need to review basic concepts of the way social and cultural systems work. Special importance is placed on Community Interpreting as a field of social complexity, the lessons of which can be applied in many other areas. The volume studies translators and interpreters working in a wide range of contexts, ranging from censorship in East Germany to English translations in Gujarat. Major contributions are made by Agnès Whitfield, Daniel Gagnon, Franz Pöchhacker, Michaela Wolf, Pekka Kujamäki and Rita Kothari, with an extensive introduction on methodology by Anthony Pym.

Cover Art
Less Translated Languages - Branchadell, Albert; West, Lovell Margaret
Publication Date: 2005
This is the first collection of articles devoted entirely to less translated languages, a term that brings together well-known, widely used languages such as Arabic or Chinese, and long-neglected minority languages âe" with power as the key word at play. It starts with some views on English, the dominant language in Translation as elsewhere, considers the role of translation for minority languages âe" both a source of inequality and a means to overcome it âe", takes a look at translation from less translated major languages and cultures, and ends up with a closer look at translation into Catalan, a paradigmatic case of less translated language, in a final section that includes a vindication of six prominent Catalan translators. Combining sound theoretical insight and accurate analysis of relevant case studies, the contributors to this collection make a convincing case for a more thorough examination of less translated languages within the field of Translation Studies.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip