Skip to main content
site header image
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons

Spaces & Technology

BUILDING DIRECTORY

All Floors Collections
  Group Study Rooms
  Restrooms
Ground Floor Technical Services
  University Archives & Special Collections
1st Floor Adaptive Technology Study Room
  Classrooms
  Library Help Desk
2nd Floor Classrooms
  Educational Resource Area
  Faculty Research Reading Room
  Subject Specialist Librarian offices
3rd Floor Conference Room
  Library Administration office
  Quiet Area (all of the 3rd Floor)

CLASSROOMS

Berry Library has 3 computer-equipped instruction rooms located throughout the Library. Librarians and staff have priority use of these rooms for teaching information literacy in partnership with faculty. All classrooms feature a projector & screen with a lectern that has a desktop computer and monitor with additional connectivity options (e.g. to connect a laptop to the projector).

classroom

 

Classroom 107 is located on the first floor. It has 20 computers and doubles as an unsupervised computer lab.

Classroom 214 is located on the second floor. It has 44 computer workstations and is for supervised use.

Classroom 215 is located on the second floor. It has laptops in secured laptop carts and flexible furniture that can be easily reconfigured and is also for supervised use.

COLLECTIONS

Ground floor

  • University Archives & Special Collections
  • Periodicals (bound)
  • Microfilm

educational resource area

1st floor

  • New books
  • Reference collection
  • Periodicals (current)

2nd floor

3rd floor

  • Book collection, HD-ZA

CONFERENCE ROOM

The Library Conference Room is located in room 318 on the third floor of the Library. This 25’ x 13’ space is furnished with a conference table that seats 16 people and includes the following AV equipment: 70" TV display, Windows 10 computer with HDMI connection, Apple Air Play connection for Apple Computers and mobile devices; Mirror Op for Microsoft computers and tablets with software installed. For questions about usage and availability of this room, please contact the Library Administration office in room 315 at 978.542.6232.

FACULTY RESEARCH READING ROOM

faculty research reading room

The Faculty Research Reading Room located is in room 209 on the second floor of the Library. It is reserved for faculty members conducting quiet research and study. This room has a variety of seating and lockers that can be assigned to faculty for the current semester.

To request permanent access to the Faculty Research Reading Room with your ClipperCard, please email cardaccess@salemstate.edu.

To request a locker assignment and for other questions about this room, please contact Dawna Matkevicius in the Library Administration office, Room 315, and at 978.542.6232 or dmatkevicius@salemstate.edu

GROUP STUDY ROOMS

Berry Library has 12 group study rooms with 6-8 seats each. Rooms may be reserved in advance by SSU students or may be available on a first-come, first-serve basis for others. Rooms may be accessed by checking out a room key card with a valid ClipperCard at the Library Help Desk. Current Salem State students may book a study room online.

study room

Policies for Reserving and Getting Access to a Room

  • Rooms may be reserved online up to 1 week in advance.
  • Rooms may be reserved for up to 2 hours at a time in increments of four 30-minute time slots.
  • Current students receive priority for group study rooms. Faculty and staff may request to use a room during non-peak study periods. Inquire at the Library Help Desk for availability. 
  • The person who checks out the key card is responsible for returning it to the Library Help Desk on time. Do not leave the library with the key card. 
  • Room reservations will be held for only 15 minutes past the beginning of the reserved period.
  • Group study (2 or more) has priority over individual use.

 

Policies for Using the Room

  • Personal belongings should not be left unattended in the room.
  • Write on the glossy white-board walls with erasable white-board markers only, provided in the room; if you need more markers, ask at the Library Help Desk. 
  • Cables to use the flatscreen monitor or headphones may be checked out at the Library Help Desk.

RESTROOMS

Accessible restrooms are located in both wings on every floor of the Library, including gender-neutral restrooms.

There is a baby changing station in the single-occupancy gender-neutral restroom on the ground floor.