Skip to main content
site header image

Social Work: Databases - Find Articles! (Scholarly and more)

A guide to Social Work resources and library research.

Off-campus Access

To log-in for off-campus use of our databases you will need to use your Navigator username and password. 

Social Science Databases

Social Work Databases

Try searching one of these along with another EBSCO or Proquest database(s) listed on this page!

Health/Mental Health Databases

Review Literature / Meta-analyses

Searching Social Work, Sociology, Psychology, Education, and other databases for journal articles containing reviews of literature or meta-analysis may yield some results.

You may also search EBSCO's Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews available through the SSU Library's subscription. 

It is also suggested to search the Websites listed below:

Campbell Collaboration  Search the Campbell Library for systematic reviews in the areas of education, criminal justice and social welfare.

Centre for Reviews and Dissemination  University of York, Unite Kingdom.  CRD focuses on high quality systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health and social care interventions and the delivery & organization of health care.

Cochrane Collaboration  Search the Cochrane Library, or browse by topic, for systematic reviews of the world's best medical/health care research studies.  Full text is often available through Wiley.  A further search of Salem State College resources can be done if full text is not readily available.

project cork Abstracts to meta-analyses on alcohol and substance abuse topics.  Provided by Dartmouth College.

 

Find a scholarly journal by title

Have the citation to an article and want to know if we have full text available at the library? 

Search our publications directory - if we do it will link you to it!  Or browse for journals in your field.

Specialized Databases

Databases with very specific focus

Legal Resources & Databases

In addition to Googling .gov sources you can try these resources for finding laws, policies, or other legal information...

Counseling Resources