SWK 395 Social Work and the ElderlySWK 707R Research in Social Work
This is the "Apps" page of the "Social Work" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work   Tags: apa, bsw, cswe, msw, nasw, social_policy, social_services, social_work, swk_707r  

A guide to Social Work resources and library research.
Last Updated: May 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.salemstate.edu/socialwork Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Apps Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Apps for Databases & Library Resources

EBSCO Databases

  • EBSCO Databases
    Free. Apps for Apple and Android. Obtain an authorization key by accessing EBSCOhost through the library (by clicking on EBSCO or any EBSCO database). Click the link "EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications" at the bottom of the screen to e-mail yourself a 9 month key.

Gale Databases

  • Gale Access My Library App | College Edition
    Free. Available for Android and Apple. Once the app is downloaded find Salem State under the list of Massachusetts institutions to get access to the library's databases. Contact your librarian for password

ScienceDirect Database

  • SciVerse ScienceDirect Database
    Free for Android and Apple. Must have set up an individual ScienceDirect account via your library's institutional access to the database and must use your SSU e-mail address.

Springer Database

  • SpringerLink
    Use this free app for Apple to access Springer database content the library has institutional access to when connected to SSU wireless network.

Wiley Sociology Spotlight

  • Wiley Sociology Spotlight
    Free. For Apple. Get the latest information on conferences, the latest abstracts for sociology articles and books, news, video, free syllabi, and some free full text articles.

WorldCat

  • WorldCat Mobile
    WorldCat Mobile helps you find books, movies, music and more in a library near you. Partner built apps powered by WorldCat are also listed for Android and Apple.

OverDrive

  • OverDrive app
    Free app for Android, Apple, BlackBerry, and Windows. Access our collection of popular and scholarly eBooks and audiobooks.
 

Apps for Social Work Research

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

  • iSSRN
    Free, available for Apple. SSRN is a worldwide collaborative of authors encouraging the early distribution of social science research results by making abstracts and full text of papers from scholars available for free.

PTSD Coach, USA.gov Apps, & NLM Apps

Icon_PTSD.jpg

  • PTSD Coach
    Free. For Apple & Android. Designed by the U.S. Department of Veteran's Affairs, this app provides users with education about PTSD, information about professional care, a self-assessment for PTSD, opportunities to find support, and tools that can help users manage the stresses of daily life with PTSD
  • USA.gov Apps
    Free apps from the US Government. For Android, Apple, and BlackBerry.
  • U.S. National Library of Medicine Mobile Apps
    Free, apps available for Android, Apple, & BlackBerry. Other resources available for mobile viewing or download on to mobile devices

United Nations Apps

  • United Nations Apps
    Free, available for Apple. Includes such apps as UN Country Stats, UN News Reader, and Humanitarian Kiosk. Others available with purchase.

PsycExplorer

  • PsycExplorer
    $2.99. For Apple. "The psychology news app" keep up to date with the latest developments in the field.

PsycGuide

APA Journals App

APA Concise Dictionary of Psychology

 

Productivity Apps

Citation Management (Mobile & Apps)

    

  • RefWorks Mobile
    No app yet, but mobile version of this citation management tool available as a Salem State student, faculty, staff or alumni. Access it anywhere using your RefWorks account info and SSU GroupCode.
  • Mendeley (Android)
    Mobile app options for Andriod.
  • Mendeley (Apple)
    Free, for Apple. Citation and research management tool.
  • Zotero Apps Go Mobile
    Paid and free apps for Andriod and Apple that enrich this research and citation management tool on mobile devices.

Concept Mapping

Dropbox

  • Dropbox
    Free and purchase versions for Android, Apple, & Blackberry. Cloud-based, file synchronization service that let's you store your files and access them from the Web, your computer, and mobile devices.

Instapaper

  • Instapaper
    Read saved Web pages on the go, even offline. For $2.99 available for Android and Apple

Presentation Tools

       

  • Prezi
    Free. For Apple. A presentation tool that helps you organize and share your ideas in a dynamic way.
  • Haiku Deck
    App for making simple, beautiful presentations, available for free for Apple.

Cloudart

  • Cloudart
    Free app for Apple. Create Word Clouds for brainstorming, presentations, etc.

Skitch

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip