Often times scholarly research in sociology/social science is mentioned in popular publications meant for the general public to read (for example in newspapers, magazines, and online.)
Here are some examples of original peer-reviewed articles and how they were reported on in popular publications:
See the "Find a specific publication or article" box on this page to search for a specific journal for a scholarly article that was featured in mainstream media.
Have the citation to an article and want to know if we have full text available at the library? Search our periodicals directory - if we do it will link you to it! Or browse for journals in your field.
To find scholarly/peer reviewed articles on your topic use the Library's leading Sociology databases listed below.
Find more recommended databases here.
Abstract
A summary of the article including the study’s key points. Reading this can help you decide if an article is relevant to your research.
Introduction
Typically includes a literature review which is a critical summary of what the scholarly literature says about a specific topic or question. It also covers why the topic is important and what the problem is that the study focuses on.
Method/Methodology
Contains what the author(s) did to try to solve the problem covered in the introduction. Gives detailed information on the research including participants, procedures, instruments, variables. Typically address how the results relate to the hypothesis or problem stated in the introduction
Results
Covers what the authors found, a summation of data and an analysis. There are often tables and/or figures providing statistics.
Discussion
What the authors think their findings mean, a narrative summary of the results. It may relate the results to previous studies, address study limitations, and give suggestions for future studies on the topic.
References
List of sources cited in the article such as books and peer-reviewed articles.