Skip to main content
site header image
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons

Research Tools & Collections

FIND ARTICLES & JOURNALS

Search many popular databases, the library catalog, and other collections through our comprehensive Library Search.

Use the full A-Z list of databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Databases cover a variety of subjects from general to specific.

Find journals, magazines, and newspapers by title by using our periodicals directory. The library has a wide range of journals, magazines, and newspapers in print or online through databases.

Get subject-specific suggestions from your librarian via our Research Guides.

 

Popular Publications

Chronicle of Higher Education
Boston Globe

FIND BOOKS & MORE

Use the NOBLE (library catalog) to locate books, DVDs, journals, and more at Salem State and the surrounding public and academic libraries within the NOBLE library network.

Use the Commonwealth Catalog to broaden your search beyond the NOBLE library network to most libraries in Massachusetts.

Use WorldCat to connect you to more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. 

FIND A/V MATERIAL

Streaming Audio

DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) is a scholarly resource of recordings including CD quality audio, liner notes, and essays from New World, Composers Recordings, and other important labels. (with a specific link to off-campus access)

Music & Performing Arts combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.

Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 131,500 CDs with more than 2,012,500 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.

OverDrive offers access to audiobooks available within the NOBLE network.

 

Streaming Video

American History in Video collection contains early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel, that capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. The collection also contains award-winning documentaries, featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts.

Black Studies in Video features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.

Counseling and Therapy in Video I, II and III provides a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.

Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video includes hundreds of hours of video for professionals and students in criminal justice and public safety.

Dance Online: Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Films on Demand provides instant access to thousands of programs neatly grouped into convenient subject-specific categories.

Kanopy streams films ranging from documentaries, indie and foreign films, must-see classics and blockbuster movies.

​LGBT Studies in Video features award-winning films, documentaries, interviews, and archival footage exploring the social, cultural, and political evolution of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. 

Psychotherapy.net allows your to browse videos by approach, therapeutic issue, expert and population.

World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow you to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)

If you can't find what you're looking for, try requesting it through interlibrary loan.