Skip to main content
site header image
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons

Research Tools & Collections

EDUCATION RESOURCE AREA (ERA)

The Education Resource Area (ERA) houses over 29,000 books, journals & magazines, assessment tests & kits, and reference materials. In addition, the ERA identifies special collections that bolster the curriculum and various learning styles including the Test Collection, Global Resources, Leveled Readers, Big Books, and SELECT books.

UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES & SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

The Salem State University Archives & Special Collections includes material that is rare, unique, or historical. The Archives contains the records of the university (1854-present) as well as a variety of collections documenting Salem history, historic geography and maps, music, and political figures and activist groups. The Archives is open for use by the college community and outside researchers. Please contact us for an appointment. 

DIGITAL COMMONS

Digital Commons at Salem State University provides online access to the University Archives & Special Collections material as well as the scholarly and creative works of the University community, such as student theses and faculty publications.

HOLOCAUST & GENOCIDE COLLECTION

In conjunction with Salem State University's Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies, the Berry Library houses this collection of nearly 2,000 books on the Holocaust, Nazi Germany, comparative genocides and post-genocide societies. Survivor interviews and histories on DVD and VHS are also available. Materials in the collection consist of titles from both the Harriot Tarnor Wacks Holocaust and Genocide Collection, and the Jill and Scott Sullivan Comparative Genocide Collection. It is located on the Library’s 2nd floor.

PRINT PERIODICALS

The library has a collection of print periodicals on the ground floor of the library. They are shelved in alphabetical order on cool compact shelving that works by pressing a button. Come down and explore what we have.