This is the "News Assignment | Searching for a news source" page of the "PSY 218 Childhood & Adolescence (Weinstein)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PSY 218 Childhood & Adolescence (Weinstein)   Tags: childhood adolescence, developmental_psychology, psy218, psy_218, psychology, weinstein  

Last Updated: Feb 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.salemstate.edu/psy218weinstein Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

News Assignment | Searching for a news source Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Science of Developmental Psychology in the News

STOP - Before you search for an article, think about what topic interests you? 

Think about hot topics today, review your class notes and your textbook in order to come up with a topic (or two) to try searching for.  This should include an age group (infancy, childhood or adolescence) you are interested in (covered in your course).

 

 

The Science of Developmental Psychology in the News

Where to start...

You can access articles related to developmental psychology and from acceptable sources for your assignment through the library's databases.  Depending on what type of article you seek, a path to find them is explained below:

 

                                                                                              

Searching for an academic psychology journal article:

What you will find: an article detailing original research, an actual study, reviewed by professionals in the field and written for students and professionals in the field

  • Monitor of Psychology is a freeely accessible journal and can be searched by clicking here  (be sure to limit your results to published within the past year)
  • Additional academic psychology journals can be found by searching any of the following databases: PsycArticles / PsycINFO  (be sure to limit your results to published within the past year and limit by scholarly or peer reviewed journals under Advanced Search options)  

 

 

                                                           

Searching for a newspaper article:

What you will find: an article summarizing/referring to a study that has been done, written for the general public

  • The New York Times can be searched by clicking here (be sure to limit your results to published within the past year under Advanced Search options)
  • The Boston Globe can be searched by clicking here (be sure to limit your results to published within the past year under Advanced Search options)
  • Additional newspapers can be found by searching the following database (be sure to limit your results to published within the past year under Advanced Search options)

 * Remember online free versions of newspapers/magazines are not identical to the print editions we have available online through the library databases. Also, online free versions or newspapers/magazines often limit access to a small number of articles and ask you to pay - the library does not.

 

 

                                                              

Searching a magazine:

What you will find: an article summarizing/referring to a study that has been done, written for the general public

  • Psychology Today can be searched by clicking here, then selecting ABI/INFORM GLOBAL database (be sure to limit your results to published within the past year under Advanced Search options)
  • Time can be searched by clicking here, then selecting Academic Search Premier (be sure to limit your results to published within the past year under Advanced Search options)
  • Search for other news magazines by title in our periodicals directory 

Find a specific scholarly journal, magazine, or newspaper

Have the citation to an article and want to know if we have full text available at the library?  Search our periodicals directory - if we do it will link you to it!  Or browse for journals in your field.

Librarian

Profile Image
Tara Fitzpatrick

Make an appointment to get help with research or using the library by clicking the button above.

Contact Info
Social Science Librarian
Salem State University Library
Salem, MA 01970
978-542-6765
Send Email
 

Library Info

Hours


Phone Numbers:

Archives: 978-542-6781

Circulation & Reserves: 978-542-6368

Interlibrary Loan: 978-542-6501   Fax: 978-542-6596

Information Desk:  978-542-6766


Book Return Locations:

Library Circulation Desk         

North Campus, book drop outside library's quad entrance & College Drive entrance

Central Campus, book drop outside Bertolon lot entrance

South Campus, book drop outside Harrington Building

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip