Research Guides: IDS 461: Seminar in American Studies (Duclos-Orsello): Home

Quick Links

Other Useful LibGuides

American Studies
by Nancy Dennis Last Updated Aug 24, 2023 16 views this year
History
by Anna Hocker Last Updated Oct 18, 2023 28 views this year

Professional Associations

Welcome!

This guide collects together a range of resources for IDS 461, and is geared to help you complete your seminar paper. If you would like any assistance with your research or would like to recommend a resource, please do not hesitate to contact me using the information in the box on the right.

Voltaire blessing [Benjamin] Franklin's grandson, in the name of God and Liberty, Pedro Américo (1843-1905, Brazilian). Image via Wikimedia Commons.

New E-Resources for American Studies!

Thanks in part to federal stimulus money, the following resources have been added to the SSU Library. Take some time to investigate them, you're sure to find something interesting!

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Digitized collection of 270 newspapers from 35 states covering the African American experience.
American Broadsides and Ephemera
These are digitized facsimilies from the American Antiquarian Society’s collections. It includes 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
American History in Video
This collection of online videos includes over 4,000 titles of documentaries, newsreels, and archival and public affairs footage concerning events in American history.
The American West
A digitized collection of primary source materials related to the American West.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
"...contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700."
Everyday Life and Women in America, c1800-1920
This digital collection of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides provides primary source materials for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history. It covers 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. Materials come from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library.
Oxford Journals Online
An online collection of over 200 online journals published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Scholarship Online
A collection of e-books published by Oxford University Press from 2007-2010. These books are also listed in the SSC Library catalog.
Proquest Central
This is a huge, multidisciplinary database of mostly full-text articles.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
Extensive digitized collection of archival materials from several museum, university and state collections on both sides of the Atlantic.

Research Help

Nancy Dennis, Library Liaison for English, Interdisciplinary Studies, Economics, and Criminal Justice

ndennis@salemstate.edu