This is the "Nursing Theorists/Famous Nurses" page of the "Nursing 211" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Nursing 211  Tags: nursing nursing_211 nursing_theorists evidence_based_practice famous_nurses  

Finding information on nursing theorists, famous nurses in history, and evidence based practice nursing articles is the focus of this guide.
Last update: Feb 1st, 2010 URL: http://libguides.salemstate.edu/nursingtheory  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Nursing Theorists/Famous Nurses            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources:
Use your Salem State network/wireless network (also known as Windows/SSCAD and VPN) user name and password to log into library databases (such as CINAHL), periodicals, and ebooks from home. All resources are available through the library's web page:  http://www.salemstate.edu/library

Don't know your user name and password?
Students - please see IT's page for: Student password reset.
Faculty/Staff - log into Navigator for your user name and password.

Note: All password resets may be done on and off-campus and do not require access to the Salem State wireless network.

 
 

Finding Information on Nursing Theorists or Nurses in History

Looking for information on your nursing theorists or nursing famous person - living or deceased? Here are some tips:

Books
Use SSC's library catalog, or other library catalogs, to find books on theorists or nurses in history. If you can't find anything on a specific person, make your search more general. For example - just using the term nursing or search a specific nursing theory. For nursing famous people, just look for famous women or women/men in medicine.

Don't forget, if a book is at another NOBLE library other than SSC, you can order the book to be delivered to SSC! You'll need your barcode number (back of Clipper Card) and a PIN number (obtain from the SSC Library Circulation Desk) to use this Request feature on the Library Catalog.

And, if the book isn't in our catalog, Interlibrary Loan is a great option. Just give yourself at least 10 working days to order books through them.

Here are a few SSC Library books you might find useful, especially for those theorists and famous people who may be difficult to find information on:

Dictionary of American Nursing Biography
http://innopac.noblenet.org/record=b1018946

Who's Who in American Nursing
http://innopac.noblenet.org/record=b1060729

Note: Some of our books are in storage. Visit the Library's Circulation Desk to request these items. Please allow time for staff to retrieve these items.

Articles
Although Google (especially Google Scholar) may be used to find journal articles, it's actually easier to use a subject specific database to find journal articles. CINAHL and MEDLINE are two great choices for nursing articles on nursing theorists. (See Quick Links on left) Also, databases like CINAHL and MEDLINE will give you access to full-text articles whether you are working from home or campus.

We also have the Biography Resource Center for biographical information on famous people. Grolier's encyclopedia might also be helpful for finding general, short articles on famous people. Hint: use the name of the person you're looking for when using these resources. (See Quick Links on left)

Can't Find Full Text Articles?? Sometimes CINAHL and MEDLINE won't have the full-text available. Use the the link Full Text Options in CINAHL/MEDLINE or our Periodicals/E-Books Directory to make sure the full-text isn't hiding in some other library database. If an article can't be found, Interlibrary Loan is a great way to order articles/books for free! Just give yourself at least 10 working days to order articles/books through them.

Note: Some of our print journals (microform and bound) are in storage. Visit the Library's Circulation Desk to request items. Please allow time for staff to retrieve these items.

Web Pages
Google! A great resource for finding web pages by and on nursing theorists and famous people. Just make sure the pages are legitimate. Remember, anyone can publish information on the web. I've also put together (see Quick Links) a listing of some of the major nursing theory and famous people sites for you to use. Note: the ANA Hall of Fame site is terrific for Famous People.

 

Nancy George - Profile

Profile Image
Nancy George
Contact Info:
Salem State College
57 Loring Ave. (campus location)
352 Lafayette St. (mailing location)
Salem, MA 01970
978-542-7182
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait