Nursing Databases
This is the "Articles and Reviews" page of the "Nursing Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing Research   Tags: nursing, nursing_research  

This guide will help students in Nursing Research find resources for their research needs.
Last Updated: Jan 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.salemstate.edu/nursingresearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Articles and Reviews Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Links

Articles and Reviews:
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Cochrane Library

MEDLINE via EBSCO

Periodicals/E-Books Directory

Other Health Science Databases

APA Format, Citation Organizers
RefWorks

Style Guides

Web Pages on Nursing Research
Eastern Nursing Research Society

National Institute of Nursing Research

 Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library - nursing research database and links to nursing research resources; from Sigma Theta Tau International.

 

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources:
Use your Salem State network/wireless/email network user name and password to log into library resources (such as CINAHL). All resources are available through the library's web page:  http://www.salemstate.edu/library

Don't know your user name and password?
Students - please see IT's page for: Student password reset.
Faculty/Staff - connect to Polaris to reset your password.

Note: All password resets may be done on and off-campus and do not require access to the Salem State wireless network.

 

Nursing Research Articles

Where to Find Nursing Research Articles
Although it is very possible to use Google or Google Scholar (see Search Tips & Tricks for ways to refine your Google searches) to identify nursing research articles, it is far more efficient to use a nursing subject specific database to find journal articles. I recommend the use of the CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) database to find articles on nursing topics.

Within CINAHL, to find nursing research, you might want to use some of the following terminology as a part of your search (Note: use the Advanced Search screen for the most search flexibility):

conceptual framework
nursing research
nursing theory
qualitative
quantitative

In addition, in searching for nursing research journals, you also may also want to try limiting your search (in the search options) to peer reviewed and research article. Note: peer reviewed or refereed means an editorial board reviewed the article before it was published and deemed it worthy of publication. Thus, a journal that peer reviews its articles is typically of a higher quality than one that does not.

You may limit your search to just nursing journals. This can be done by using the limit, Journal Subset in CINAHL. Within the Journal Subset you may highlight Core Nursing or Nursing journals. This will limit your search to nursing journals. Note: More than one item may be selected by pressing down the CTRL key when making your selections.

When verfying a journal has been written by a nurse, you may need to view the title/abstract and view the author information/affiliation; there's a new limiter, any author a nurse, but it only works for the most recent articles in CINAHL.

Finding Full-Text Articles in CINAHL
Within CINAHL are many links to full-text articles. If a direct link to full-text is not available for a citation, you need to follow the link, More Full Text Options for additional full-text possibilities. In addition, I usually double check the journal title, if full text is not easily available through CINAHL, in the Periodicals/E-Books Directory.

If a full-text article is not available either online or in our print collection, you may order journal articles through Interlibrary Loan. Note: Our print, bound and microform journals are in storage. Visit the Circulation Desk for assistance in retrieving articles found in these format. Please allow some time for Circulation staff to assist you with these requests.

 

Finding Systematic Reviews of the Literature

Where to find Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Library

  • A specialized resource for systematic reviews of evidence, considered the "gold standard" for Evidence Based Practice.
  • Contains full text for more than 4.000 reviews, as well as "protocol" which outline reviews in progress.

Nancy George - Profile

Profile Image
Nancy George
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Salem State University
57 Loring Ave. (campus location)
352 Lafayette St. (mailing location)
Salem, MA 01970
978-542-7182
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip