- What are 2-3 keywords that best describe your topic?
- Are there alternate ways your topic might be expressed?
- Are there any commonly-used phrases?
- Can you describe, in one or two sentences, exactly what you are looking for?
- At the Salem State University Library home page, click "Find Articles and More."
- This opens the page "Databases - Find Articles, Statistics, E-Books, Periodicals.
- Scroll to "Databases by Name," A-Z.
Choose one of the following databases:
- Business & Company Resource Center (Gale)
Provides scholarly articles and trade news. Click on "Articles Search" and enter keywords. Adjust the pull-down menu to "Keyword." Limit results to full-text and peer-reviewed. Adjust dates of publication.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Provides complete articles and citations of some 2,100 journals covering all business disciplines, including hotel and lodging operations management. In addition to specific hotel journals, BSP will cover the treatment of hotels/lodgings in marketing, management, MIS, accounting, and finance journals.
Covers the major journals in the field, including Cornell Hospitality Quarterly. In addition, Emerald indexes articles about hotels and lodging from publications in operations, production, services industries, management, training, and facilities.
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO)
Covers scholarly research and industry news for all aspects of hospitality and tourism, including hotels and lodging. Provides the complete articles (full-text) for 450 journals, in addition to company and country reports, and books. Covers domestic and international lodging issues.
Covers major hospitality/hotel journals. Also leads to articles on financial, accounting, and operations aspects of hotel/lodging.
To begin, click these categories in the left frame: "Business, Management, and Accounting" and "Decision Sciences."
- Scrutinize the list of articles that appear when you execute your search.
- Which most closely describe your topic?
- Look at the subject headings/descriptors in the citation for articles you especially like.
- Clicking on these will lead to additional relevant articles.
- If you do not like the articles you have retrieved, consider revising your search strategy and/or choice of databases.
- Try your search again in another database.
- Use synonyms in place of some of your keywords.
Contact Nancy Dennis, Business & Economics Librarian, firstname.lastname@example.org, for further assistance.