This is the "Home" page of the "Grant Writing in the Social Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Grant Writing in the Social Sciences   Tags: grant_writing, social_science, social_work, sociology  

A guide to resources for grant writing in the social sciences.
Last Updated: Mar 21, 2017 URL: http://libguides.salemstate.edu/grants Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Resources

See this list of books on grants and grant writing available at the SSU Library and try these two reference sources on grants...

Annual Register of Grant Support 2015
Call Number: Ref. AS911.A2A67

Foundation Grants to Individuals
Call Number: Ref. LB2336.F599

The Grants Register 2013
Call Number: Ref. LB2338.G7 2013

Additional Online Resources

Possible additional resources assisting with finding grant funding and with grant writing. 

  • American Council of Learned Societies
    ACLS, a private, nonprofit federation of 70 national scholarly organizations,a representative of American scholarship in the humanities and related social sciences.
  • Associated Grant Makers
    Regional association of grant makers, both foundations and corporations with giving programs, serving in, or making grants in Massachusetts and surrounding areas. Salem State is a member.
  • Council on Foundations
    This site provides links to community foundations, corporate foundations & giving programs, international grantmakers, and family & public foundations. It offers info about conferences, workshops, research, and publications.
  • CPB Grant Proposal Writing Tips
    Tips on grant proposal writing from the Corporation of Public Broadcasting.
  • Essex County Community Foundation
    ECCF is a link to education, funding and convening for both local philanthropists and the nonprofit sector in their region. Providing grants, conferences and networking opportunities for non-profits in Essex County, MA.
  • Foundation Center
    Established in 1956 and today supported by close to 550 foundations, the Foundation Center is a leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide.
  • Fundsnet Fundraising & Grants Directory
    Search their directory of funding resources by such categories as Children, Social Justice, Region, Disability, etc.
  • Philanthropy News Digest (PND)
    Search requests for proposals (RFP's) in a number of different categories including health, education, community development, environment, art, public affairs, etc.
  • Social Science Research Council
    SSRC is an independent nonprofit organization devoted to the advancement of social science research and scholarship.

Boston Public Library Foundation Center Access

Visit the BPL Social Sciences Department to access numerous print resources from the Foundation center as well as the Foundation Directory Online Professional and Foundation Grants to Individuals Online.

 

Welcome

Welcome!

This class LibGuide is designed to supplement the information and resources offered to you by Salem State University's Office of Sponsored Programs and Research Administration

Funding from the Federal Government

The federal government is a major source for those seeking grant funding.  Check out the Catalog and Grants.gov sites listed here, as well as individual agencies relevant to your cause (a sampling are listed below).  

  • Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
    Database of all federal programs available to state and local governments
  • GRANTS.gov
    Central storehouse for info on over 1,000 grant programs and provides access to approx $400 billion in annual awards.
  • National Endowment for the Arts (NEA)
    An independent agency of the federal government created to support artistic excellence, creativity, and innovation for the benefit of individuals and communities. Search for funding opportunities by discipline or field.
  • National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH)
    A grant-making agency of the United States government dedicated to supporting research, education, preservation, and public programs in the humanities.
  • National Science Foundation (NSF)
    An independent federal agency created "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defenseā€¦" Search for opportunities related to Social, Behavioral, & Economic Sciences (SEB).
  • U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
    The Department of Health and Human Services is the principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans. In support of its mission, HHS awards grants for more than 300 programs and is the largest grant-awarding agency in the Federal government.
  • US Department of Education
    The mission of the Department of Education is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access. Grantmaking at ED provides information on grants and assistance offered by the US Department of Education
 

Searching for Grants & Statistics

Retrieved from: http://www.flickr.com/photos/grrrl/1075584178/

Try Google advanced search using your search terms in the first search box and .gov in the "site or domain" limiter box.

Google Advanced Search

Statistics from the Federal Government

Finding data to support your cause...

You can search a relevant database for your topic and use terms like "statistics" or "data" or "quantitive analysis" to focus your results to obtain journal articles with stats.  Some databases even have specific ways to find stats or data - database help menus should tell you how.  Link to the library's databases

Some data can also be found online.  Ask yourself the question who would collect this data? 

Government agencies collect data in order to make decisions on policy.  Most is made available for free on the internet.  Here is a sample of statistical resources from the Federal Government.  Statistics offered by state and local governments could also be worth pursuing.

Librarian

Profile Image
Tara Fitzpatrick

Make an appointment to get help with research or using the library by clicking the button above.

Contact Info
Social Science Librarian
Salem State University Library
Salem, MA 01970
978-542-6765
Send Email

Social Science Funding Links Compiled by Michigan State University Library

Get ideas for other sources of grants through these lists complied by Michigan State University Library.  Some are national and could apply to you, others are local to Michigan but could give you ideas of something similar to look for closer to home.

 

State/Local Statistics

Boston Redevelopment Authority Research and Publications  Provided by the RDA, research and publications on such topics as the 2000 census, housing, foreign-born in Boston, labor market, etc.

Massachusetts Commonwealth Community Reports  Find information relating to Massachusetts cities and towns.

Mass Benchmarks  Massachusetts State Data Center.  A program of the UMass Donahue Institute's Economic and Public Policy Research Unit.  Part of the state data center program established by the U.S. Census Bureau.

MA School and District Profiles Data and profile info from the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Educaation.

Mass.gov  Search for statistics via the website of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Massachusetts Quick Facts from the US Census Bureau  Click this link to get quick facts from the US Census on MA.  You can also search a specific city/town in MA for statistics specific to their population.  Once you have done this find "Want more?" and click on the link that allows you to browse even more detailed data on your chosen city/town.

ALSO TRY INDIVIDUAL STATE AGENCIES AND FEDERAL STATISTICAL SOURCES WILL OFTEN CONTAIN INFORMATION DOWN TO A STATE AND LOCAL LEVEL.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip