This is the "Home" page of the "FYS 100 Hollywood Meets the Helping Professions (Amato)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FYS 100 Hollywood Meets the Helping Professions (Amato)   Tags: amato, fys, fys100, fys_100, helping_professions, hollywood, nursing, ot, psychology, social_services, social_work  

Last Updated: May 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.salemstate.edu/fys100amato Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Searching for professional and scholarly sources

Below you will find example searches for topics related to your course - narrow or widen the search on your own or create a new search to find articles of use for your self-reflection.

You can also visit the library's database page or LibGuides to access these suggested databases:

BUSINESS:

ABI/Inform

Business Source Premier

COMPUTER SCIENCE:

ACM Digital Library

ScienceDirect

EDUCATION:

Education Research Complete

ERIC

Professional Development Collection

HISTORY:

America History & Life

Historical Abstracts

JSTOR

Project Muse

INTERDISCIPLINARY STUDIES:

Academic Search Premier

JSTOR

Project Muse

PSYCHOLOGY & SOCIAL WORK:

Proquest Psychology

PsycArticles

PsycINFO

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences

Social Work Abstracts

Social Services Abstracts

SocINDEX

THEATRE:

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance

Communications & Mass Media Complete

  • EXAMPLE SEARCH films and helping professions
    Results NOT limited to scholarly. All EBSCO databases.

    Search for:
    film or movies or hollywood or television
    AND "social work" or nurse or psychologist or therapist or counselor
    AND portrayal
  • EXAMPLE SEARCH: Counseling a certain population
    Results limited to scholarly. Search of relevant psychology and social work databases from EBSCO.

    Search for:
    victims
    AND domestic violence
    AND therapy or counseling
  • EXAMPLE SEARCH characteristics of teachers
    Search of EBSCO databases Educational Research Complete, ERIC and Professional Development Collection for:

    characteristics or self or personality
    AND teachers or educators
    AND career
    NOT students

Explore Careers in the Helping Professions

Explore Careers in the Helping Professions

 

Career related books

In addition to books at the SSU Library, Salem State's Office of Career Services is available to assist you.

Cover Art
101 Careers in Social Work - Jessica A. Ritter; Halaevalu F. Ofahengaue Vakalahi; Mary Kiernan-Stern
Call Number: HV 10.5 .R58 2009
ISBN: 0826154050
Publication Date: 2008-12-01


Cover Art
Theater Careers - Tim Donahue; Jim Patterson
Call Number: Access online to ebook
ISBN: 9781611171976
Publication Date: 2013-07-22

Cover Art
Careers in Psychology - Tara L. Kuther; Robert D. Morgan
Call Number: Ref. BF 76 .K88 2013
ISBN: 1133049672
Publication Date: 2012-02-11

Cover Art
America's Top 101 Computer and Technical Jobs - J. Michael Farr
Call Number: Access to online ebook
ISBN: 1593571003
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

Cover Art
Social Work Career Development - Carol Nesslein Doelling
Call Number: HV 10.5 .D63 2004
ISBN: 0871013630
Publication Date: 2004-12-01

 

How to access library resources

Books

Your Clipper Card is your library card!  Use it to check out books, request items from other libraries, photocopy and print!

Visit the Library Catalog


Databases/Electronic Resources

On campus you will have instant access to the library's databases and other electronic resources.  When accessing these materials from off-campus you will be asked to log-in using your Navigator/wireless network username and password.

Don't know your username and password?  Students please see IT's Student Wireless Password Reset page.

Visit the library's Database Page

 

Library Info

Hours


Phone Numbers:

Archives: 978-542-6781

Circulation & Reserves: 978-542-6368

Interlibrary Loan: 978-542-6501   Fax: 978-542-6596

Information Desk:  978-542-6766


Book Return Locations:

Library Circulation Desk         

North Campus, book drop outside both Library & Learning Commons entrances (quad and College Drive)

Central Campus, book drop outside Bertolon lot entrance

South Campus, book drop outside Harrington Building

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip