A guide to food, present and past.
For General Overview
- Academic OneFile
Multidisciplinary database of more than 8,000 academic journals, many of them full-text.
- Academic Search Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.
- Better Homes and Gardens
This popular journal provides recipes searchable by categories, such as cooking with kids, diets for special needs, and quick and easy meals that can be prepared in 30 minutes or less.
- Fine Cooking
This journal provides access to recipes, articles, and cooking instructions that include video clips of the process for some of the instructions.
- Food History News
This is a journal dedicated to culinary history.
- Vegetarian Times
The Vegetarian Times articles are available online from December 2000 through the current issue. This site is free but requires a log-in.
- Wine Spectator
This journal has thorough articles on wine recommendations. The site has good wine reference information, such as vintage charts, introductory wine basics, information on wine tasting, and recommendations for wine and food pairing.
- CQ Researcher
Well-documented full text overviews of current issues, including bibliographies, chronologies and other useful features. Produced by Congressional Quarterly.
- Gale Student Resources in Context
More than 1,100 full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts.
- Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Features analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Information on today's hottest social issues. Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
Variety of Databases that deal with food in a relative capacity
- America: History and Life
Indexes and abstracts periodical articles and dissertations in the field of North American history, prehistory, and culture.
- Anthropological Index
"The Anthropological Index Online is based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the British Museum (formerly Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world."
- Art Index Retrospective
Index to periodicals, yearbooks and museum publications, both domestic and foreign. Subjects covered include archaeology, architecture, art history, crafts, motion pictures, graphic arts, interior design, landscape architecture and others.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Provides author, subject and citation access to the literature in folklore, history, and religion.
- Business Source Premier.
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text of business publications, scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm. Includes early cookbooks and books about food and diet.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700
- Historical Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts periodical literature and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Historical Newspapers of the New York Times
A full-image archive of the entire historical run of The New York Times, from 1851-2001.
Archive of scholarly journals in electronic format, digitized from the first issue onward to a "moving wall" of two to seven years ago.
- MLA International Bibliography
International index to journals, series, monographs, working papers, bibliographies and dissertations on modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore.
- Project Muse
Provides access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage varies for each journal.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Indexes and abstracts core journals in such fields as anthropology, criminal justice and criminology, gender studies, geography, gerontology, minority studies, social work, sociology, and urban studies. Includes full text of articles from 245+ journals as far back as 1995.
Agricola, created by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, provides access to the agricultural literature of the world.
- US Department of Agriculture
Use "Browse By Subject" Feature to navigate by topic