Skip to main content
site header image

Classics of Western Literature: General Information

Resources for the study of Greek and Roman literature

Databases

These databases are of use to all literature scholars. You can start your research by searching for your author or work in one of these databases. These databases are freely accessible on-campus to all Salem State students, faculty and staff. To access these databases from off-campus, you will need your SSC email address and email password.

Off-Campus Access

As of 1 PM on Friday, August 28, 2009 the log-in for off-campus use of our databases has changed.  Instead of your SSC E-mail and password, you will need to use your wireless network/VPN log-in.  Sorry for any inconvenience.  This is a change the College is making in an effort to have a one log-in system which will ultimately make things easier campus-wide.

Instructions for accessing the VPN are located here.

Search the Catalog

Circulating Books

These books focus on Greek and Roman literature as a whole, and are good backgroud reading. They may be borrowed.

Reference Books

These reference books are for in-library use only and cannot be checked out. That way they're always available to use.

MLA Style

The MLA style is the accepted bibliographic format for papers papers in English literature. Here are some resources for using MLA.

 

  • MLA-homepage of the Modern Language Association
  • The OWL at Perdue--an excellent guide for MLA help

Getting Books from Storage

Approximately half of the library's collection is in storage. Fortunately, it's very easy to retrieve those books!

  • Go to the book's record--either by clicking on the link through this guide or by searching the library's catalog.
  • Look for the checkmark-and-circle button that says "Request Me"-- press that button.
  • You will be asked to enter your library card number. That's the barcode on the back of your Clipper Card.
  • You will also be asked for your NOBLE PIN. You can get that from Circulation on the main floor of the library. Bring your Clipper Card when you request your pin.
  • Choose a pickup location "Salem State College" from the drop-down menu.
  • Click "Submit"

We will call or email you to let you know your book is ready. It typically takes 1 business day for a book to be brought from storage, so plan accordingly.

Subject Guide

Cathy Fahey's picture
Cathy Fahey
Contact:
Berry Library 210G
978-542-7203