eBooks, audiobooks, and videosChildrens Book and Media AwardsYoung Adult Book and Media AwardsNew Books
Periodicals
Subjects: Language Arts; Fine ArtsSubjects: Math & Science; ReadingSubjects: Social Studies; Special Ed.
Action Research Reports, 2007-2006C.A.G.S. in Education - Action Research Reports, 2009-08C.A.G.S. Action Research Reports, 2010
This is the "Overview" page of the "Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education   Tags: education  

A guide to a select list of library (and other) resources in print and electronic form in education.
Last Updated: Jun 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.salemstate.edu/education_resources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

About This Guide

This resource guide will assist you with your research needs in education.

Just click on the tabs above to find the information you desire!

 

Scan me

 

What I Can Do For You!

Call me, Send me an email, or Stop by my office!

I can assist you with...

  • Database Research
  • One-on-one or group research and instruction
  • In-class library instruction
  • General research help
  • Questions about library services
 

Give Us Feedback

Was this guide helpful to you with your research?

Let us know! Your comments will help us to provide the information you need.

 

New NASA Educator Resource Center

Framingham State University NASA Educator Resource Center 

Welcome to the new NASA Educator Resource Center at Framingham State University.

Our mission is to provide access to online resources and professional development in the STEM disciplines (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) in collaboration with NASA Education and the Christa McAuliffe Center at Framingham State University.

Contact: Kim Cochrane, Curriculum Librarian, 508-626-4657

Websites for teaching and learning in the STEM disciplines:

http://www.framingham.edu/henry-whittemore-library/curriculum-library/framingham-state-university-nasa-educator-resource-center.html

 

The Chronicle of Higher Education

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Inside Higher Ed

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Today is....

 

Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons at Salem State University

Welcome!

The Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons at Salem State University is located on North Campus.

Hours are: M - Th: 7:45 a.m. - 2:00 a.m.; Friday: 7:45 a.m. - 7 p.m.; Sat: 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.; Sun: 2 p.m. -11 p.m. Please see the library's homepage for variations during summers and holidays. Go to http://www.salemstate.edu/library and click on Hours (middle frame, lower left, under About the Library).

The ClipperCard serves as the library card for faculty, students, staff, and administrators. Your ClipperCard enables you to check out and in materials and request items from Interlibrary Loan.

A current, valid SSU email user name and password provides remote (off-campus) access to the  electronic resources including Education databases. For information on email, please visit IT's page on Accounts and Passwords:https://www.salemstate.edu/18712.php

Public services at the library on Level 1

Circulation: provides basic service for all hours of library operation; check out and in materials, including items on reserve and Interlibrary Loans. Circulation provides a delivery service for items that the online catalog identifies as being in storage.

Interlibrary Loan: obtains items for SSU patrons not owned by SSU Library. Link to book and journal request forms available from SSU Library's home page.

Reference: assists patrons with selecting, locating and utilizing library information resources

 

THIS LIBGUIDE IS REVISED AND UPDATED REGULARLY.

Jason Soohoo, Education Instruction and Research Librarian, is responsible for this LibGuide.

Jason thanks Rukmal Ryder for her assistance with maintaining and updating the guide.

 

Education Resources, Overview

Education Resources, Collections and Services

Electronic databases for Education and related disciplines are available 24/7 from the library's homepage: http://www.salemstate.edu/library

How to get there: Go to the library's homepage. Click on Find Books and More, under Research, middle section.  Click on Databases. Scroll down and find the Social Sciences area. Click on Social Sciences. Select a database and click on its title. When off-campus, you will get a prompt for your  SSU email user name and password.

SSU Library provides access to 1,780+ online Education journals, many in full text.

To browse Education periodicals online, go to the Periodicals/E-books Directory from the home page. Select Social Sciences subject area. Education is located in Social Sciences area, and sub-divided by: General; Theory and Practice of Education, etc. You may search by the title of a journal. To search for articles on a particular topic in several Education publications, search an online database.

Internet Resources and Websites

Please see separate pages on this LibGuide for online links to curriculum frameworks by state; school handbooks; test sites; and, suggestions for lesson plans.

Websites are arranged there by a variety of topic. Sites are checked regularly for currency of addresses and accuracy of content. Please see also separate page in this LibGuide.

Print Education Resources and Collections at SSU Library, North Campus

  • Education reference resources are integrated into the main reference collection, main floor.
  • Books in the main Education (Library of Congress L classifications) collection are housed on Level 3
  • Books from the main Education Resource Area are shelved as a unit on Level 2.
  • SELECT books are housed in the Education Resource Area on Level 2, along with leveled readers.
  • Big books are shelved in the Education Resource Area.
  • 30+ current print periodicals relating to Education are shelved in the Education Resource Area. Other current print periodicals on Level 1.

 

History of Education Collection

History of Education collections are shelved in the College Archives and include: old textbooks, children's books, and periodicals; regional school records; primary source documents on Salem Normal School and Salem Teachers College. The Archives are located the Ground Level of the library. Please CONTACT Susan Edwards, University Archivist, for more information or to make an appointment: sedwards@salemstate.edu 978-542-6781; 978-542-7257

http://www.noblenet.org/ssu/archive/index.html

 

OTHER

A LAMINATING MACHINE is available for student use in Meier Hall, Room 114. 

Please call Instructional Media at extension 6454 for hours of operation.

 

ASSISTANCE

Jason Soohoo, Education Subject Specialist Librarian, conducts formal instruction for classes by faculty request, and provides library patrons with personal assistance with research. E-mail: jsoohoo@salemstate.edu

Telephone: 978-542-6967 Office: Library, 220

 

 

 

 

National and State News

Massachusetts Department of Higher Education

http://www.mass.edu/home.asp

Link to recent stories about higher education in Massachusetts, including current initiatives such as the Vision Project.

 Link in Mass DOE site to calendar of events for current month: http://www.doe.mass.edu/events.aspx

 

 

Education Resource Librarian

Profile Image
Jason Soohoo
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons
Salem State University
352 Lafayette Street
Library 220
Salem, MA 01970
Phone: 978-542-6967
Send Email
 

Library Contact Info

Circulation Desk: 978-542-6230

Reference Desk: 978-542-6766

Interlibrary Loan: 978-542-6501

 

News: Individual Publications

TeachHub.com http://www.teachhub.com/news/cat/14"News, Recommendations and Reources By Teachers, For Teachers."

Focuses on K-12.

 

Education Week

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

U.S. Dept of Education

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

NEA Today

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip