This is the "How to Find Periodical Articles" page of the "Legal and Ethical Environment of Business" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal and Ethical Environment of Business   Tags: business, ethics, legal  

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.salemstate.edu/content.php?pid=468269 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

How to Find Periodical Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Step One: Formulate a Search Strategy

  • What are 2-3 keywords that best describe your topic?
  • Are there alternate ways your topic might be expressed?
  • Are there any commonly-used phrases? 
  • Can you describe, in one or two sentences, exactly what you are looking for?
      

    Step Two: Search for Your Topic in a Library Database:

    • At the Salem State University Library home page, click "Find Articles and More."
    • This opens the page "Databases - Find Articles, Statistics, E-Books, Periodicals. 
    • Scroll to "Databases by Name," A-Z, or "Databases by Subject - Business and Economics."
    Choose one of the following databases: 
    • ABI/INFORM
      Click "Business" to begin. Enter "Advanced Search" to enter multiple terms.
    • Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
      Provides complete articles and citations of some 2,100 journals covering all business disciplines, including business ethics, sustainability, and business law.
    • LexisNexis Academic
      Click on "US Legal" or "International Legal." Search across statutes or law reviews.
    • Sage Journals Online
      Covers topics in business ethics and law from management and social science journals. Offers a different perspective from that typically found in business databases.
    • ScienceDirect
      To begin, click these categories in the left frame: "Business, Management, and Accounting" and "Decision Sciences." Interdisciplinary articles on business ethics, corporate responsibility, and business law.
    • Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
      Retrieves quality, scholarly articles from a broad spectrum of business and related fields. Covers business ethics, social responsibility, and business legal issues.
    • Westlaw. Campus Research.
      Select "Law." Enter search terms and select source: encyclopedias, law reviews, cases, briefs, statutes, etc.
    • Wiley Online Library.
      Carries informative articles on many international marketing topics. Particularly useful are articles from the International Journal of Consumer Studies.

    Step Three: Evaluate Results

    • Scrutinize the list of articles that appear when you execute your search.
    • Which most closely describe your topic?
      • Read these first.
    • Look at the subject headings/descriptors in the citation for articles you especially like. 
      • Clicking on these will lead to additional relevant articles. 
        
       

      Step Four: Revise Your Search

      • If you do not like the articles you have retrieved, consider revising your search strategy and/or choice of databases. 
      • Try your search again in another database. 
      • Use synonyms in place of some of your keywords.
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip