Research Guides: Education: Secondary and Higher Education: Articles and Databases

Overview

This page lists and describes articles and databases for secondary and higher education research at the Salem State Library. When you access a database or article/journal title from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator. Go to A-Z Database List for a full list of library databases.

Accessing Library Databases

Key Databases To Start

Education Database This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 750 journals, 100 books, and conference papers on all aspects and levels of education since 1983 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. This database includes the database Education Abstracts.
Education Week This link opens in a new window
Online journal focusing on education.
Note: You MUST register as a user using a Salem State University Email address to have full access to the journal.
ERIC - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. ERIC EBSCO contains full-text ERIC documents (past 5 years) and Digests. View tutorial:
ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides current full-text access to over 240 journals for professional educators. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 270 popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.

More Secondary and Higher Education Databases

Career and Technical Education This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 500 current titles on any technical topic. Particulary useful for Education and Social Sciences.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 popular general interest and current events periodicals since 1975 with daily updates. Particularly useful for high school students. This includes access to MAS Reference eBook Collection.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to a collection of magazines, reference books, pamphlets, book reviews, and encyclopedias since 1984 with weekly updates. Particularly useful for middle school students. This product includes access to Middle Search Reference eBook Collection.
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
NoveList Plus is an online readers’ advisory resource with over 200,000 fiction and readable nonfiction and audiobook titles, for children, teens and adults. View tutorial:
Middle School This link opens in a new window
Gale’s Research In Context is a multidisciplinary research database designed for students in grades 6 to 8.
High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to current magazines, newspapers, and reference information. Particularly useful for students in high school.
ScienceDirect College Editions This link opens in a new window
Search full text articles for over 1900 titles in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social & Behavioral Sciences collections from 1995 to present. Our library has also purchased a small selection of ebook titles through ScienceDirect.

List of Journals

Find journals, magazines, and newspapers by title by using our periodicals directory. The library has a wide range of journals, magazines, and newspapers in print or online through databases.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Online version of the print publication, Chronicle of Higher Education. Includes job postings. Coverage: Current year.

Can't Access Full-Text Articles?

Inter-Library Loan is a great way to get pretty much anything you want from any library in the world.

You just need to fill in an easy online form and the librarians will do the work for you.

Enter '0' in the payment field.

The item will generally get to you within a few days - books will need to be collected from the library and articles will normally be e-mailed to you as a PDF.