This is the "Home" page of the "Historiography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Historiography   Tags: historiography, history  

Last Updated: Oct 13, 2016 URL: http://libguides.salemstate.edu/content.php?pid=13190 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Writing a Historiographic Essay

The website below on History writing from the History Department at Queens College, New York provides good background information on what historiography is as well as information on wrting a historiographic essay.

 

Sources on Historical Debates

History in Dispute
This is a great source to look at when choosing a historiography topic. It is a 21 volume set with entries on hundreds of historical controversies. Each has an overview of the debate, articles written by experts arguing each side and a list of sources. To get to History in Dispute from the link, type in your Salem State login, select History from the left column and scroll down until you see one of the volumes. Click on a volume and type in your subject in the search box that says Search Publication.

History Databases

The databases listed below have particularly strong collections of scholarly history journal articles.

  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is a full-text archive of scholarly journal articles in many subject areas and is especially strong in history. It also links to more recent articles available in other databases and to Google Scholar.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Covering the history of the world from 1450 to present, except for North America, this database provides abstracts to scholarly articles. The full-text of some articles is available and links to full-text articles available in other databases is supported.
  • America: History & Life
    The companion database to Historical Abstracts, America: History & Life provides abstracts (and in some cases full-text or links to full-text articles) on North America from prehistory to the present.
  • Project Muse
    Project Muse is a full-text database similar to JSTOR except that the articles are recently published.
 

Historiography Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Historians & Historical Writing
Call Number: Ref. D 14 .E58 1999
ISBN: 1884964338

Cover Art
A Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing
Call Number: Ref. D 13 .G47 1998
ISBN: 0815315147

 

Guides to Historical Literature

Cover Art
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Call Number: Ref. D 20 .A55 1995
ISBN: 0195057279

Cover Art
Reader's Guide to American History
Call Number: Ref. E 178 .R43 1997
ISBN: 1884964222

Finding Books at SSU and Beyond

Follow the links below to find books at Salem State University Library or in libraries elsewhere.

Getting Books and Journals from Other Libraries

Even if the book or journal article you want is not owned by SSU, the library can usually still get it for you.  Use the information below to request books from other libraries.

 

Obtaining Books from NOBLE Libraries

Books found in the NOBLE catalog, but not owned by SSU may be requested directly by clicking on the Request button at the top of the page describing the book.  A form will come up asking for your library card number and password or PIN.  Your library card number is the 14 digit number on the back of your Clipper Card.  You may make up your own password or go to the information desk in the library to get a PIN.  Books requested from other libraries in NOBLE usually arrive within a week, often sooner.  The library will notify you when your book arrives and you can pick it up at the desk. You may also use your Clipper Card to check out a book at any of the other NOBLE libraries if you prefer to go to the holding library directly.

 

Obtaining Materials from WorldCat and Other Library Catalogs

For materials found in WorldCat or other library catalogs (not NOBLE) use Interlibrary Loan.  The Interlibrary Loan office will borrow books and journal articles for you from libraries all over the world.  For more information and to make a request click here:  Interlibrary Loan

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Carol Zoppel
Contact Info
Salem State University, Berry Library
Salem, MA
(978) 542-6811
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip