Skip to main content
site header image

BIO 301: Conservation Biology: RefWorks

RefWorks is...

A research management tool.  It can help you keep track of your research articles, create bibliographies, and even share information with colleagues.

Getting Started

 

Access

To access RefWorks, go to the SSU Library’s homepage: www.salemstate.edu/library/

Establish Account

You must have an account to use RefWorks.  To establish one, simply type in a user name and password on the opening page of RefWorks.  Click Login.  If you are working from off-campus, you will need your Salem State network/wireless network user name and password to access RefWorks.  You will also need the RefWorks Group Code.  Contact your Subject Specialist Librarian for the Group Code

 Importing Citations From EBSCO Databases

Now you need to put something into your RefWorks account.  To move the articles from EBSCO to RefWorks, click on the folder icon to the right of the titles and you want.  Then click on the yellow folder icon above the results list to view the records you selected.  Click Select All.  Then click on Export.  Make sure the radio button marked Export to RefWorks is highlighted.  Click Save.

 Folders

RefWorks will automatically come up, saying that files have been imported.  Click on View Last Imported Folder.  The selected EBSCO citations should be there.  These citations now need a permanent home.  To provide one for them, click on the Folders drop-down menu from the menu bar at the top of the screen.  Scroll down to Create Folder.  Type in the name you want for the folder.  Now, Click on the radio button labeled All in List on the upper left.  Pull down the drop-down menu next to the Put in Folder box, scroll down to the name of your folder and click on it.  Click on O.K.  The citations from EBSCO are all now in your new folder.

 Creating Bibliographies

To create a bibliography of these citations, select Bibliography from the menu bar at top. Choose an Output Style.  We’ll use MLA 6th Edition.  Click the radio button marked Format a Bibliography from a List of References.  In the box next to File Type to Create select Word for Windows 2000 (or later). (Note, you can use any of these you want.)   Save the document to your computer or thumb drive.  You can then copy and paste the bibliography into your paper.

 Write-N-Cite

RefWorks also has a program called Write-N-Cite which you can use to insert placeholders for citations into your paper as you write it.  When you’ve finished the paper, RefWorks can take those citations and format them into a bibliography.  But that’s for another session….