Skip to main content
site header image

MKT 445: International Marketing Fall 2016: Key Sources: RefWorks

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a citation management tool.  It can help you keep track of your research articles, create bibliographies, and even share information with colleagues.

Quick Guide to RefWorks

Access

  • Disable pop-up blockers on your browser before you begin. They interfere with the operation of RefWorks.
  • Click on Databases.
  • Look under Databases Quick Links, Click on RefWorks.

Establish Account

  • You must have an account to use RefWorks.  To establish one, simply type in a user name and password on the opening page of RefWorks.  Click Login. 
  • If you are working from off-campus, you will need your Salem State network/wireless network user name and password to access RefWorks. 
  • If you are working from off-campus, you will also need the RefWorks Group Code.  Contact  Nancy Dennis, Science & Technology Librarian (ndennis@salemstate.edu) for the Group Code.

Importing Citations From Library Databases

  • Most of the Library's databases are set up to "Import" bibliographic records directly. For example,
  • To move the articles from EBSCO to RefWorks, click on the folder icon to the right of the titles and you want.  Then click on the yellow folder icon above the results list to view the records you selected.  Click "Select All."  Then click on "Export."  Make sure the radio button marked "Export to RefWorks" is highlighted.  Click "Save." The items will be electronically sent to the RefWorks "cloud."
  • Some databases, like Web of Science, do not provide a direct link to RefWorks. RefWorks provides instructions on how to import in these circumstances in its Importing From Online Data Vendors guide.

Importing Citations from Google Scholar

  •    Adjust "Settings" in Google Scholar to recognize RefWorks. 
  •    Adjust the drop down menu under "Bibliography Manager" to RefWorks.

What Happens When You "Export" Records to RefWorks:

  • First, the RefWorks database will confirm that files have been imported.  Click on "View Last Imported Folder" to see new items.
  • These citations now need a permanent home.  To provide one for them, click on the "Folder" drop-down menu from the menu bar at the top of the screen.  Scroll down to "Create Folder." Type in the name you want for the folder.  Now, click on the radio button labeled "All in Lis" on the upper left.  Pull down the drop-down menu next to the" Put in Folder"box, scroll down to the name of your folder and click on it.  Click on "O.K."  The imported citations are all now in your new folder.

Creating Bibliographies

  • To create a bibliography of citations in RefWorks, select "Bibliography" from the menu bar at top.
  • Choose an "Output Style."  Click the radio button marked  "Format a Bibliography from a List of References." 
  • In the box next to "File Type to Create" select Word for Windows 2000 (or later). (Note, you can use any of these you want.)   Save the document to your computer or thumb drive.  You can then copy and paste the bibliography into your paper.

Write-N-Cite

  • RefWorks also has a program called Write-N-Cite which you can use to insert placeholders for citations into your paper as you write it. 
  • When you’ve finished the paper, RefWorks can take those citations and format them into a bibliography.  
  • Find Write-N-Cite under "Tools." 

 RefGrab-It

  • RefGrab-It, found under "Tools,"  captures data from web sites and non-pdf formatted articles on the web. 
  • It works with Firefox and Internet Explorer. 
  • It requires that your browser allows pop ups, and that your bookmark tool bar is visible. 

RefWorks Tutorials

RefWorks has produced many webcasts for learning its features:

 RefWorksTutorial

My Job...

Please remember

My job as Science and Technology library liaison is to make sure you find  the best possible resources needed to complete your assignments. For assistance, please contact me at:

ndennis@salemstate.edu

978-542-6218